We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best day of my trip!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awesome Adventures

Awesome Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 198.99*
and up
El Dorado Canyon and Gold Mine Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Awesome Adventures offers the best Las Vegas Tours at the best prices: ATVs, Horses, Kayaks, Grand Canyon Tours, Gold Mine Tours, Custom Events, Ziplines, Rappelling, Ropes Course, and more.We offer Eldorado Canyon ATV,and Kayak Tours that include a walking tour of the Techatticup Gold Mine, once the largest producing Gold Mine in Nevada.Visit our website to see all the great Las Vegas and Utah Adventures we offer! NEW: Bear Grylls Survival Academy
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best day of my trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I did the Eldorado Canyon ATV tour which included a tour of the Techatticup Gold Mine. The tour company guide Buck picked me up at my hotel and after a 40 minute ride we arried at the canyon. We were instructed on the ATV's and we then left for our adventure and what an adventure it was!!! It was an ultimate thrill to ride up, down and through the trails. On the flatter parts of the trails we would really kicked up the pace, what a thrill! We then we provided with a lunch from Subway and was given a tour of the mine. Buck was a great tour guide and was very knowledgeable of the Vegas and surrounding area. I am going back to Vegas in October with the kids and will book with them again!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Conwayluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    24
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pilling
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Dream Holiday of a Lifetime in the U.S.A.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hollywood's location managers find the most beautiful views in America for the screen, so we followed their footsteps. The fly-drive holiday below took us to many of them through the states of Colorado-Nevada-Arizona-Utah-California.

We travelled a total of 4.300 miles and the journey took 14 days which included a number of days in Las Vegas. Many places we visited are only mentioned briefly they includeUniversal Studios, Disneyland, Queen Mary at Long Beach, Yosemite etc; Our Journey was made using car hire with overnight stops in selected Motels such as Super 6 and 8, Travelodge and other various Motels, their charges, quality and security were first class

Bryce Canyon.
Extraordinary yellow and red rock formations rise hundred of feet from the valley floor. After heading through the rugged magnificence of Zion National Park (The Eiger Sanction, Jewel of the Nile and Romancing the Stone). We encountered the Interstate seeing more cars in a minute than we did all day in Monument Valley. The bustle of Las Vegas was a culture shock after the wilderness. The home to umpteen films everywhere looks like a movie set. South Western Colorado and Southern Utah are staggeringly beautiful. This is nature at its grandest. Civilisation is remote and, in the clear air, the moon is bigger and we saw more stars then anywhere else except in the movies and Las Vegas of course.

Leaving Vegas on a bright Monday morning
we suddenly came upon a scene so desolate and untouched by time covering and area of 5.180 square miles

Death Valley
Daytime temperature have touched 134 in the shade walk out on to the flats and the temperatures rockets to a mind blowing 200, only Libya has been hotter, Death Valley consistently has the highest temperatures on the planet. yet amazingly teams with life. Home of Antonionis Zabriskie Point, Marlon Brando in One-Eyed Jacks, and who can forget Star Wars. Driving from Death Valley Junction en route to Scotty's Castle via Beatty you cannot but be suddenly reminded of the other great fascination of the mystical Area 51.
Leaving Death Valley via Panamint Springs suddenly brought us to the home of the early film stars, Lone Pine, home of legends Hopalong Casidy (William Boyd) and Topper, Gabby Hayes and Gunsmoke and it was here that Roy Rogers found Trigger and Tom Mix found Tony, not forgetting John Wayne and the legendary Buck Jones. After leaving this desolate, barren but awe-inspiring wilderness our journey in parts touched the great metropolis of suburbia before we encountered an area of such natural and outstanding beauty.

Sequoia & Kings Canyon
These adjoining parks protect immense mountains, deep canyons, huge trees, and stunningly diverse habitats. The Generals Highway climbs over 5000 feet from chaparral and oak-studded foothills to the awe-inspiring sequoia groves. Taking the quarter mile footpath to the top of the world at Moro Rock was both spectacular and awesome with magnificent views of the Continental Divide and views we will long cherish Great names associated with this area Roy Rogers, George "Gabby" Hayes, Dale Evans, John Wayne, Tex Ritter, Buck Jones, Tom Mix these and many more live on in the legendary films such as Lights of Old Santa Fe, The Frontiersman, Twilight on the Trail, Rollin' Plains, and hundreds more that will live on forever.

Yosemite
Nothing can prepare you for the wonderment of this spectacular tract of mountain-and-valley scenery in theSierra Nevada, Home of Yosemite Valley,
and its high cliffs and waterfalls, Falling a distance of 2,425 feet Yosemite Falls is the world's 5th tallest

Please do yourself a favour

To get to know the real Yosemite, however, you must leave your car and take a few steps on a trail. You don't have to walk far to discover the grandeur that can be found here and the values this special place offers.

Millions of people have come to Yosemite and left refreshed and relaxed and perhaps a bit more knowledgeable about what they want out of life. See what you can find.

Glacier Point is one of those rare places where the scenery is so vast that it overwhelms the viewer. Below, a sheer rock cliff about 3,200 feet straight down affords you a bird's eye view of the entire Yosemite Valley.

No matter how you travel or when you go, Glacier Point offers what may be Yosemite's finest view. One time home of Maverick, and The Caine Mutiny and more recently Captain James T Kirk and Mr Spock were here filming Star Trek V-The Final Frontier.

The gateway where the Bay meets the Pacific Ocean, San Francisco - Los Angeles

The Golden Gate Bridge has established the boundary to riches for people throughout history, and also brought fear to many. Out in the middle of the San Francisco Bay, the island of Alcatraz is a world unto itself, soldier, guard, prisoner, chains, on pier 39 you think you can smell , hear, or even see what once was. . The prison heldAl "Scarface" Capone and Robert "The Birdman" Stroud. The island was featured in movies includingEscape from Alcatraz with Clint Eastwood and The Rock with Sean Connery. For prisoners, the worst torture was how close, but unattainable, was life in San Francisco. At night, prisoners could even hear parties and laughter across the bay.
Nothing can compare to a drive on the One, otherwise known as:-

The Pacific Coast Highway
said by many to be the most beautiful drive in the world, "It is" The drive south through Monterey , Big Sur, meandered along route 1, we eventually hit Bay Watch area continuing to Long Beach stopping to see the most gracious of old ladies, the blue ribbon liner Queen Mary.It was here in L.A. I had my photo taken with my favourite star Marilyn Monroe (yes taken at Mann's Chinese Theatre)

No visit to Los Angeles would be complete without a visit to Disneyland and Toytown
with Mickey, Minnie, Donald Duck plus lots more of their friends. The other great film institute not to be missed Universal Studios Hollywood Complete with The Backlot Tour, here you can take in some of the most famous of film sets, eg: Jurassic Park, Back to the Future, Waterworld, Backdraft, and the 8.3 Earthquake.

(these are subject to change with the passing of time)
End of Journey

Our Journey ends, time passes
Its time to go home, thank you for the memories.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbyB-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had an absolute blast! The guides were incredible. On the drive out and back the guide shared a ton of knowledge. The arcs were in great condition and were fast. Zip lining was a surprise. The Valley of Fire stop was really interesting and added an educational aspect. This will be an annual thing when I go to Vegas.

Helpful?
Thank Buck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

If you haven't thought of trying these folks, do so. They are great. We did the ATV and Eldorado Mine tour. Our guide was aces, ask for Buckshot.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

amazing!!! such a great experience. the guys were great too!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank karla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Awesome Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Awesome Adventures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing