We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,726)
Filter reviews
1,726 results
Traveller rating
453
693
325
132
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
693
325
132
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabana suites tower room vintage room fremont street container park old vegas fremont experience single deck blackjack no elevator loose slots downtown vegas prime rib mob museum main building stay downtown an older hotel the deuce
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,726 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We make a point of visiting The El Cortez every time we're in Vegas. Its a short walj off of The Fremont Street Experience. They offer a monthly drink special and the slots are VERY friendly. Great mix of old & new games. You really get an "Old Vegas" feel from this place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank SAMIAM112970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Tobacco smoke coming into the "non-smoking" rooms from the casino below, a slot machine that ate my money and jammed and no one showed up to fix it, and a maintenance crew yelling, dropping equipment onto the floor, and swearing while fixing a leak in the room directly across from me are all reasons why I will never stay here again. Also, the restaurant and massage facilities are only average.

Heads up: they charge a $40 per night refundable security deposit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Whatever it was, it was fine. We had a vintage room. Certainly had personality. The room was fairly large and comfortable. Decorations were undoubtedly note-worthy. The AC needed a refurbished, very noisy. The bathroom could use a remodeling, as well. The room door was old-styled, it looked good... but an extra bolt or lock likely needed. We went to the restaurant both to dinner one night (we had a coupon for a free bottle of wine) and for breakfast, it was fine without being great. The casino is a tad depressing. Free shuttle to the airport, which was great. We had good service throughout, except at the souvenir shop where the lady at the counter was somewhat rude. Loved the location, right near the Freemont Experience and Container Park... Far enough, though, for quiet and peace. We really enjoyed downtown, more than the strip. El Cortez is ideally situated, also walking distance to the Mob Museum and the Neon Museum (this last one is worth the detour). All in all, the price was right and we had a really good time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The was my first time staying off the strip. I chose the hotel because it had a reputation of being where the locals would go and I was not disappointed. The room was decent, food was excellent. I enjoyed the prime rib at Siegal's Restaurant so much I had it for all 3 days of my visit. So delicious!! Their breakfast omelette was fantastic as well. The gambling was old school with lots of fun machines and blackjack tables. I will be back again! The staff are very nice and friendly. They seem to know a lot of the regulars on a first name basis.

Room Tip: The Tower room I had was quiet and clean.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jzajac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

El Cortez is a great hotel right there at Fremont street experience. Casino in hotel has plenty blackjack and roulette. 5 miles from strip about $20-23 one way. Fridge in room no microwave no free breakfast. Cool spot I’d stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Keisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews