We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST KEPT SECRET DOWNTOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Ranked #89 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We make a point of visiting The El Cortez every time we're in Vegas. Its a short walj off of The Fremont Street Experience. They offer a monthly drink special and the slots are VERY friendly. Great mix of old & new games. You really get an "Old Vegas" feel from this place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank SAMIAM112970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tobacco smoke coming into the "non-smoking" rooms from the casino below, a slot machine that ate my money and jammed and no one showed up to fix it, and a maintenance crew yelling, dropping equipment onto the floor, and swearing while fixing a leak in the room directly across from me are all reasons why I will never stay here again. Also, the restaurant and massage facilities are only average.

Heads up: they charge a $40 per night refundable security deposit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Whatever it was, it was fine. We had a vintage room. Certainly had personality. The room was fairly large and comfortable. Decorations were undoubtedly note-worthy. The AC needed a refurbished, very noisy. The bathroom could use a remodeling, as well. The room door was old-styled, it looked good... but an extra bolt or lock likely needed. We went to the restaurant both to dinner one night (we had a coupon for a free bottle of wine) and for breakfast, it was fine without being great. The casino is a tad depressing. Free shuttle to the airport, which was great. We had good service throughout, except at the souvenir shop where the lady at the counter was somewhat rude. Loved the location, right near the Freemont Experience and Container Park... Far enough, though, for quiet and peace. We really enjoyed downtown, more than the strip. El Cortez is ideally situated, also walking distance to the Mob Museum and the Neon Museum (this last one is worth the detour). All in all, the price was right and we had a really good time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The was my first time staying off the strip. I chose the hotel because it had a reputation of being where the locals would go and I was not disappointed. The room was decent, food was excellent. I enjoyed the prime rib at Siegal's Restaurant so much I had it for all 3 days of my visit. So delicious!! Their breakfast omelette was fantastic as well. The gambling was old school with lots of fun machines and blackjack tables. I will be back again! The staff are very nice and friendly. They seem to know a lot of the regulars on a first name basis.

Room Tip: The Tower room I had was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jzajac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

El Cortez is a great hotel right there at Fremont street experience. Casino in hotel has plenty blackjack and roulette. 5 miles from strip about $20-23 one way. Fridge in room no microwave no free breakfast. Cool spot I’d stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Keisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#119 of 264 in Las Vegas
409 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,643 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#104 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,497 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#131 of 264 in Las Vegas
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Address: 600 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: ₹ 3,845 - ₹ 14,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas. With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book. Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing