We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Ranked #90 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 11 May 2006

We just returned from 7 nites in Vegas, I usually stay at the Plaza downtown, however they were all booked on the week end so had to find accomodations elsewhere, managed to get the Fitz for 2 nites and the only alternative for the week end was the El Cortez, I had only been in the El Cortez once about 3 years ago,.and that was enough I got out of there fast being a single women on my own i thought it was slummy so. I was amazed at the change and our room was on the second floor over the casino, it had new funiture/broadloom and completely redone, actually better than the Plaza. I would return in a wink now.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,328 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2006

I spent a four-day trip in Las Vegas and didn't stay in the El Cortez, so I can't comment on the rooms, but I visited the casino all four days. The El Cortez has improved alot in the past year-----they have redone the ceilings, lighting fixtures and replaced the blackjack tables. The place is overall alot nicer....there is a bar/lounge in the back of the casino that I think is new that is really nice with a surprisingly good selection of beers on tap.

The Tez still has single-deck blackjack, but any bet over $25 will draw a "checks play" signal from one of the dealers to let a pitboss know that there is serious player at the table. Prepare to be scrutinized by pit-bosses at single-deck tables.

The real hidden gem of the El Cortez is "Roberta's" restaurant.......I had the double lobster tail for $40 and it was worth it, the lobster tails were both very big and well-prepared. A buddy of mine had the prime rib and liked it alot....I think it was only $17. My meal came with fresh bread, an outstanding and very large bowl of corn-chowder soup, rice pilaf, and steamed spinach. Only the rice pilaf was mediocre....and actually it wasn't that bad. I had planned on ordering the rack of lamb which was listed on the website as $18....it seemed to good to be true.....instead, when I got there they had lamb chops for $30....so I opted for the lobster. The service in "Roberta's" was great and the ambience was relaxing.....not spectacular, but very nice. I like the place alot and think it's very underrated and a great value.

Summary---the El Cortez is a fun stop when downtown to see "Old School" Vegas....the place really isn't that crummy anymore and you have nothing to fear about the walk from the "Fremont Experience" overhang two blocks down to the El Cortez. Don't bother going to the Gold Spike or the Western (too trashy), but the El Cortez is worth a look.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Poshlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2006

My wife, who has never been to Vegas, booked us in the El Cortez thinking it was "on the strip". It isn't. It is in seedy downtown Las Vegas - an area where you might not feel comfortable walking after dark. Although my wife called ahead the morning we were to arrive confirming her request for a nonsmoker room, they did not save one for us. We were given a "vintage" room (code word for a room that has not been updated since 1950). At five AM the fire alarm went off for 20 minutes. The announcement said that evacuation was unnecessary, but they allowed the alarm to continue anyways. The next morning, we checked out, abandoning our already-paid next night. This was the most horrible experience we have had at ANY hotel ANYWHERE in the world. Too bad Trip Advisor does not allow a "zero" rating.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2006

went to vegas for the third time this april and once again had a blast! I just never get bored with that town. We stayed at the El Cortez for a few nights and was extremely impressed. the staff couldn't have been nicer and we weren't quite sure what to expect with the hotel itself. but I would go back there in a heartbeat. the rooms were very nice. and we even saw about 4 different ones. they were wonderful. I would definitly recommend this hotel to anyone. We also had a wedding at the stained glass chapel and found the staff there very nice. The wedding package wasn't quite what we had expected but it all worked out ok. I would definitly ask more specific questions next time about how their services work but all in all they were ok. but I would never go through the las vegas wedding authority again. They were misleading from the start. I have been calling since my return for a rebate that was promised for the package and they won"t even answer my phone calls they got back within minutes to me when I was setting everything up and they wanted my money. but now they are totally ignoring me. so don't deal with the las vegas wedding authority. all in all had a wonderful time and plan to go back for our aniversary this fall.

1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2006

We were going to a wedding on 4.20.06 in Vegas so we flew in a day early.
Due to Atlanta Airport’s security scare (software glitch) we arrived in Vegas hours late.
I confirmed with our internet reservation site (found through TripAdvisor) that our room would still be available.
Our rental car had left hours earlier without us, so we hoofed it on the public bus for $1.25 each. It dropped us off 1 block from the El Cortez.
Before reserving the room, I read all of the reviews and many reviews of similarly priced hotels.
I "bet" on the El Cortez due to the location and the price.

Pros:
Price ($35 incl. tax per night)
Location (1 block from Freemont Experience, Public City Bus or Strip Bus)
Amenities (Gambling, Small C-Store, Restaurant, Barber shop on site)
Ambiance (Classic Vegas as I remember it from years ago)
Free Parking (We didn't use it but I saw that it was there)
Room Toiletries (Nice assortment of soaps and girly stuff for the Misses)
HVAC (No window unit, but a functioning thermostat unit not constantly blowing)

Cons:
No elevator to our specific room (Older section, we were on the 2nd floor)
View from room (Rooftop of casino view with privacy screened window)
Small Room (Not a problem for us as we cruise a lot)

Due to the time difference and wedding events we were back and forth to the hotel every few hours. I felt safe at all hours.
If you are a confident person in you own neighborhood you will be fine here.
If you are a Nervous Mervis you will feel "funny". Not necessarily because it is unsafe, but because you are just a more anxious person and out of your normal "safety" zone.
I never felt unsafe and was grateful that such a reasonably priced hotel was downtown. There was police action all over Vegas. I look at it as the police are staying on top of crime or possible crime by being proactive. Any large city will have similar situations.
I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.
It is best for budget minded people. I'm to understand the more expensive rooms are much larger and have nicer views. Perhaps on our next trip I will upgrade.
If you have Strip related business, you must allow for travel time.
You can bypass the traffic/crowds on the Strip/Bus and take the Public City Bus that almost runs a loop around the strip.
If you are driving, Maryland Ave. runs parallel about 5 blocks to the East of the Strip.
Vegas is a fun place to visit for an interesting vacation.
Due to the 3 hour time change, the travel delay, jet lag, the bright lights, noises, smells of the city, adult oriented themes, wedding chapels on almost every corner and general humanity it was a Surreal Experience.
One that I hope to experience again soon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Scarybarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#120 of 264 in Las Vegas
408 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#100 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,607 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#105 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,495 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#132 of 264 in Las Vegas
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Address: 600 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: ₹ 3,875 - ₹ 13,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas. With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book. Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing