We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for the money we paid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Ranked #86 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 26 April 2012

April 17 - 24, 2012 in room 209 in the Tower.

Room was ok overall with some nice touches - much like the photos on the hotel website.
Pros: good sized room, nice area to sit with a love seat and coffee table, seperate sink and toilet/tub area. Large safe. Nice desk. Solid wooden furniture. Key for the door always worked - IMHO that is unusual. Water was very hot most of the time, though not as much in the evening (maybe it comes from a distance away).

Cons: we are two women and were put on the 2nd floor which can be accessed without a key. It tooks us most of the week to realize this. Would certainly have perferred a secure floor. Our view was of the roof. Sheets were not changed for the week. Tub was old and worn and unstable when you stepped in it. Air conditioning was difficult to regulate - sometimes too hot and sometimes too cold - required lots of adjustment. Having no pool was sad given the high temperature records - but we knew about the lack of a pool when booking.

We enjoyed the casino - low table minimums including 25 cent roulette. Good variety of slots. Reasonably quick with comp drinks. We used coupons and ate at the cafe 4 or 5 times (2 for 1). Yes, it is a fairly smoky casino, though we had no problems in our room on the 2nd floor.

I would go back but it would depend on price and length of stay.

Room Tip: South facing rooms could have a strip view but heat up a lot during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 982 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Please don't expect any room service for the price of the room, they don't even have bottle opener to borrowed, however the location is prime. 1 min walk to Heart Attack Burger and Fremont Disctrict. The bus to the Strip is right next door, pay $7 a day or $20 for 3 days, it can take you to any stop to the most famous casino on the Strip easily. We saved lots on sleeping but spend more on fancy cocktail in Wynn and Cosmopolitan!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank whaticare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

When you're staying in Vegas, I do recommend the El Cortez, but only if you stay in a Junior Cabana Suite, not in a Tower room. The Cabana Suites are across the street and nicer. I must say, this casino is very, very smoke-filled. The food is a good deal, very good breakfasts and very good prime rib if you don't mind a seedier atmosphere! The only other thing is, beware of being up all night on certain nights even if you're sleeping across the street. Some genius said it was ok for a band to play outdoors all night long (very loudly) on certain nights. On the upside, you're right near Fremont Street, which is a lot of fun. This part of town is the old Vegas without the old glamour, but nevertheless a fun part of town. If you don't have your own car, take the double-decker bus for $7 (for 24 hours) up and down the strip and get on and off whenever and wherever you like, as many times as you want for your 24 hour fare. One last thing, the beds are comfy in the Cabana rooms, but bring your pillow from home!

Room Tip: Remember, stay here, but stay in a cabana suite (junior, not deluxe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mozart8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here on a Thurday and Friday night. I got a great price for the room, $21.00 a night. The room was located in the main tower and was very clean and spacious. Just remember, this is an older hotel so not modern no flat screen tv but it was fine for me.

One block to catch the bus for the strip. Two blocks and you are at the start of the Fremont Experience. Three blocks and you can catch the bus to the outlets. A 24 hour bus pass is $7.00. Many good eating place to go near the hotel.

Only bad experience I had was my room faced the strip. I thought I might get a little noise from the Fremont Experience but that was a none issue. In fact, first night there ( Thursday ) didn't hear any noise at all. But Friday, a completely different situation. Friday night I went to the Hard Rock to see C.S. and N play. By the time I got back to my room it was past twelve o'clock so I figure I wouldn't have to worry about any noise. Wrong. I guess there's a nightclub nearby and combine the Dj and the music, it was so loud, the windows would vibrate. This lasted until 03:45 in the morning. Glad I had my earplugs with me. They at least helped with the noise. Not sure but maybe this nightclub is only open on Friday and Sat. night?

So all in all, I would return to this hotel but next time, ask for a room facing away from the strip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I recently stayed four nights at the El Cortez. We stayed in a Vintage room, directly above the casino floor. The price and location are amazing! It is an easy walk to the Fremont Street Experience, and there are about a dozen casinos within easy walking distance.

The Vintage Room was spacious and clean; since our last visit, they have been designated as "No-Smoking rooms". Excellent! As a warning, these rooms are accessible by stairs only; but if this is no problem, you can sleep with the lovely sounds of a casino right downstairs, about the volume of a whisper.

We ate breakfast at Cafe Cortez each morning, which is a strong endorsement, by itself. The prices are very good, and the Keno desk is right around the corner! We could eat a leisurely breakfast, while watching our Keno games on the screen.

The best parts of El Cortez, to me, are the Sports Book and the gaming tables. Full 3:2 blackjack, in single- and double-deck varieties. The Sports Book has a bank of flat-screens TVs for team sports, and an entire wall dedicated to racing action. What a great way to pass an NFL Sunday or a MLB evening, when multiple games are going! There is a variety of machines, too. We had fun at the Three-Way Poker machine. For all of the gaming activities, Jackie's Club is the way to go, for your slot card.

TIPS: Use valet when you arrive, because bell service helps a lot when you have to use stairs. At other times, if you have a car, the parking garage is fine. Be aware that the casino is generally attended by an older crowd. Walk slowly. You can get a meal delivered to your location in the casino, which is nice...but don't be surprised when you see a gambler who has a lot of half-eaten food nearby.

Uncle Joe's Pizzeria is across Fremont, a half-block toward the FSE canopy. The "Feast for Two" is awesome. Spaghetti, lasagna, and pizza, with drinks for about $16.

Going back to Vegas this Summer; I'll add another report about my favorite casino-hotel!

Room Tip: Get a Tower Room, if you want to have a great view, but get a Vintage Room, if you want to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DrGPadgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#101 of 263 in Las Vegas
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oasis at Gold Spike
#124 of 263 in Las Vegas
373 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#103 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,442 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#132 of 263 in Las Vegas
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Address: 600 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: ₹ 3,948 - ₹ 14,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas. With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book. Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing