We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Just received our credit card bill and the management charged us $100 for damage to the ceiling.....we are seniors, and we did not damage their ceiling. They said it cost that much to repair the ceiling hole. We will never stay there again. In the future, we will take pictures of the entire room. We were there for an event at a nearby airport, and just needed a place to spend the night. When you are on a budget, an unexpected extra $100 expense is not something we planned for. No photos of damage available, because they said it had been repaired already.

Room Tip: Take photos of your room...entire room...and have the date code stamped on them
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank oregonresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeR1931, Manager at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank You for your comment orgonresercher. We have the photos and your are more than welcome to them. Again, thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

The hotel is clean, but omg the cigarette smoke permeates everything. I was on the 3rd floor...a No smoking floor...but the elevators bring the smoke up....smell super duper strong in the hallways. Inside the rooms were a bit better, but not much. I felt like an ash tray when I left. Rock bottom prices to fit rock bottom rooms. No fridge, no microwave, not even a pen in the room for notes. The Buffet is barely eatable. Rock bottom price there too, so I suppose I should have know this. Walls are paper thin so you hear EVERTHING going on in the hallway and other rooms. This is not even a 2 star hotel. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Best tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackqulyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeR1931, Manager at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank You for your feed back. We work hard to eliminate the cigarette smoke to better accommodate our non smokers. We take pride in our Hotel and our food. Thank you for your comments. Have a blessed day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Our room was clean but a bit dated. Bathroom was clean. A/C wasn't working properly. Engineer came up & said "oh it froze up". Can change rooms. But they didn't have a room to accommodate us.
We went to the buffet for dinner. It was by far the worst buffet we've ever gone to. I spoke to the manager and she agreed with me that it was bad! What kind of manager is she??? Lettuce salad was hot. Gravy was hard and very thick. It was at the bottom of the pan. Mashed potatoes I'm sure were instant and not prepared properly. Manager said they're not instant but agreed they weren't prepared properly. Baked chicken looked like it had been there a week. Prime rib had not flavor and was so tough it was difficult to cut with a steak knife! Very expensive even with players card. Not worth the money.
We recommend staying at another hotel as there are plenty here in Vegas.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rysgama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeR1931, Manager at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it all feedback. It helps our company grow in a positive direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I have an art show at Boulder dam park every year 16 years now, I needed a hotel that had pet friendly rooms, The hotel we were staying at for years prices went way high and no longer had pet friendly rooms anymore so we thought we would try out the Railroad pass hotel. The room was suppose to be a none smocking room that reeked of cigarettes from past costumers smoking in a non smoking room, Cigarette burns on the bathroom counter top, no real blankets on the beds only sheets, and as far as pets friendly? they got upset with the fact we left are dogs for a short time in the room to have dinner then told us we violated the rules and then gave us a paper with pet rules after the fact! Next the bathroom had very little samples for showering only 1 bare of bath soap that left your skin feeling dry 2 small packets of only shampoo and 2 packets of body lotion that was well needed after washing with that bar of soap! we couldn't get a senior citizen or a truck drivers discount because we booked with there hotel booking agency No one mentioned that when are reservations where made! other costumers where very loud all night, very unfriendly and poor communication! And the rooms are ugly!!! Do they really care about this experience?

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeR1931, Manager at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank You mbwildlife for your feedback. We are very sorry for your unpleasant experience here at our hotel. We pride ourselves on customer service and being pet friendly. We like to assure you that our hotel rooms our dressed and stocked according to our hotel policy and procedures. We are always switching out our soap and shampoos to better accommodate our guest and their likes. Again, thank you for your feedback that's how we grow and learn to accomadate our guest better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Everything about our experience was miserable. First, you walk in to the building and are gagged by the heavy amount of smoke. This doesn't end when you arrive on your floor, even if it's non- smoking. The ventilation system was horrible.

I was greeted at check-in with a stern lecture about booking two rooms on future bookings because their maximum occupancy is 4 (we had 5). I told her I booked online with the accurate number and it allowed it and she said it was a problem with the travel site. I really don't see how this is the customers problem.

We decided to try the buffet, it was prime rib night. So extremely disappointing. Barely any salad options, a few overcooked meat choices and the pizza was so bad my kids wouldn't eat it. The prime rib was okay the first go around but my husband went back for seconds and it was overcooked and rubbery. The staff that was attending tables was disorganized and confused. Friendly but barely spoke English and had a hard time understanding our requests so they went unattended too. This place was so grossly overpriced for their poor and minimal selection.

I will say that the rooms were decent sized and clean, as were the bathrooms. But the walls were paper thin so if you end up with a neighbor who comes in and out all hours and then pukes violently at 4 am, you will hear every bit of it.

I can confidently say we will never be returning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chrystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeR1931, Manager at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We appreciate your feedback Chrystal L. I will bring your feedback to the attention of the Food and Beverage managers. We are working towards a solution to better accommodate our non smoking guest. I'm sorry for your experience that your family had here. Again, we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
7.4 km away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
13.3 km away
Skyline Hotel and Casino
Skyline Hotel and Casino
#18 of 26 in Henderson
12 reviews
11.1 km away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
14.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
7.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Address: 2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002-9346
Region: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: ₹ 6,123 - ₹ 8,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railroad Pass boasts the longest running gaming license in Nevada – Now in our 85th year. We focus on the important stuff – providing a friendly staff and great values. You’ll find good food at great prices; newly remodeled rooms at affordable rates; and exciting gaming action. Whether you’re into the classic spinning reels or the newest movie-themed video slots, you’re sure to find a machine to your liking. Blackjack, Craps, and Roulette are all available for your enjoyment. Nestled in the hills of Henderson on the way to historic Boulder City, the Railroad Pass is just a few minutes from Hoover Dam, the Las Vegas Strip, several world-class golf courses, sky diving, zip lines, kayaking, hiking trials, and just about any adventure you can enjoy. We feature three restaurants in which to relax and enjoy a meal. Our Iron Rail Café offers American favorites 24 hours a day. The Box Car Buffet is perfect for those who have a wide range of tastes, offering over 40 freshly prepared items every day. For those with gourmet tastes, enjoy the finest steaks at our DeSimone's Steakhouse. With only 120 guest rooms, we’re tiny by Vegas standards, but are huge on value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railroad Pass Henderson
Railroad Pass Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing