We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That dripping tap won't stop”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Clean bed linen and the location is the best you can say.

Very run down with a noisy aircon and that wonderful authentic dripping tap.

A little cheaper than super 8 but unless there is no room don't save your money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toninoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

This motel is a great find. It is right at the entrance of Death Valley and certainly much cheaper than staying right within Death Valley. The owner was friendly and helpful. Our room was large with micro wave, refrigerator, TV and what appeared to be a newly remodeled bathroom. Although there are a couple of newer, more modern hotels down the road you can't beat the price here and the opportunity to support a local business. There is also a pool. There is a good restaurant right down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarinet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

If you're looking for glitz and glamour, the El Portal is not for you - but if you are en route to Death Valley, this is the perfect place to stay and sensational value for money.

It looks, like the rest of Beatty, a bit run down, but the rooms are clean and functional and while it's not particularly modern, everything you need is there. The beds are super comfy, and we had an excellent night's sleep without interruption. You can wander into Beatty for dinner (though be aware that everything shuts at about 9pm, other than the saloon) - check out the chilli in the area as it's a real local favourite.

There was no one on the desk when we arrived at about 8pm - keys were left out for us, and we paid when we left. A level of trust we're not used to in other parts of the world! If you want basic, good quality accommodation close to Death Valley, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Travelling on a travel agent booked tour, we had to book this ourselves as the agent could not get us anywhere in the area. Very efficient and polite internet booking service, and the same on arrival. It wasn't a great first impression but the room despite being rather dark and retro was very comfortable with the best beds of our trip. The fridge was a real bonus. We arrived latish on a Sunday and did not want another casino/diner type meal. The Rebel gas station did great pizzas and provided coffee and breakfast the next morning. We had our best night's sleep here and as in everywhere else we stayed where aircon was a must, the noise of it blocked out anyone else's noise there may have been. We discovered you don't get a lot of anything for $60 anywhere we travelled and this came out very well compared with some of the hotels where we were paying around $250 a night. It also has the cheapest soft drink vending machine we found :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VegasFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Good location - very close to Death Valley, great price. The room was big and had a lot of character. It was a little funky, but what do you want in a tiny desert town charging $55 a night? The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We were even left little bags of candy for Halloween. Oh...and it's pretty close the the amazing hot springs!
If you reserve online and need to make a change (as I did) just call - they don't seem to reply to emails. Other reviews complain that they sent 37 emails that were never answered. I made one and then just called. Duh. This place was just fine and We'll probably stay here next time we go to Death Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecalebemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.6 km away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#3 of 6 in Beatty
372 reviews
0.5 km away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
384 reviews
0.4 km away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.9 km away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
1.0 km away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
1.2 km away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty
El Portal Motel Beatty, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing