We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
190
110
56
22
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
110
56
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snug bar continental breakfast flights of stairs yogurt heated boot room big mountain ski room big fireplace hot tub ski area ski trip whitefish mountain glacier national park roaring fire hard boiled eggs ski season bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on our trip to Glacier NP. The lodge was quiet and staff very nice. The room was clean and comfortable but it was disappointing to find out once checked in that the restaurant was closed. Not that big of an issue, we just ate some BBQ down the mountain. We only stayed one night but I can say if my husband and I were skiers, this would be the place to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill and Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you, Annie, for taking the time to post this kind review. We appreciate your easy going attitude about the restaurant. It is privately owned and operated by the Chef. He had a hard time finding and keeping staff this summer season and was forced to be closed on some days to give his staff time off. Thanks for the referral to the skiers - we are about to be in that season! Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Kandahar Mountain Resort is a fabulous facility. Our visit in early September was met with a light snowfall which enhanced the beauty of the area and facility. Unfortunately the main restaurant was not open during our two day stay but we understand the the food is excellent.

Room Tip: The room was large, with lovely furnishings and extremely comfortable.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you very much for your five star rating on your review. Shortage of staff caused some days to be closed for the privately owned restaurant. I'm sorry that you experienced that. Bon Voyage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at Kandahar in September, traveling from NY by train and visiting Glacier NP during our stay. Accommodations were magnificent and staff members were courteous and accommodating regarding our every need. We enjoyed the hot tub and my wife thoroughly appreciated receiving a massage. Dinners at the Snug Bar and the Café were exceptional. My daughter and I will be staying at the Kandahar on our second ski excursion to Whiteface Mountain Resort next March and looking forward to the trip west.

Room Tip: The recently renovated rooms are spacious and comfortable, the ambience authentically rustic.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jihaimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review, Jim! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend while touring Glacier National Park. For the price, it wasn't a very good value. No elevator! Restaurant was closed. And it's much older and very tired looking here and there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience, Alan P. I'm very sorry that the restaurant was not open for you. They struggled all summer season with staffing shortages and had to schedule for the staff they had. Every year we address aging issues of this classic mountain lodge. The rooms were completely refurbished in 2015. This past year we installed LED lights in all fixtures in the lodge. We continue to revisit how we could add an elevator to the building. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The beds were so comfortable, the hot tub was huge and spacious. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was that the Cafe Kandahar said on our brochure that it was open at 5 PM. We waited until then and a wait staff told us they open at 6 PM. We waited until then and asked the bartender in the hotel why it still wasn't open and they then mentioned that this place was reservation only. We waited for 2 hours just to find out we couldn't be seated and we were hungry. SO if you want to eat at the restaurant, make reservations! Everything else was amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Punkerdoodle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you, Punkerdoodle81! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and so sorry that the restaurant disappointed you. The Cafe Kandahar and Snug Bar are owned and operated by Chef Andy Blanton. He had a tough time having enough staff this past summer season to operate at capacity -- and the staffing situation was continually in flux. He is very good and I'm sorry you were not able to experience his talents. We are changing our information to indicate reservations are required because we don't know how he will do in the upcoming winter season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews