We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury At The Top Of A Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury At The Top Of A Mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Kandahar Lodge is absolulely lovely and luxurious but it is around 5 miles + from White Fish Lake at the foot of Big Mountain Ski Area. (We had thought it was at the Lake for some reason and was disappointed that we had to drive so far to get to the lodge but ultimately loved the comfort we experienced). The rooms were beautifully decorated & had 2 comfortable leather club chairs (typically you find only 1 chair in a hotel room, if that many) to recline in so you didn't have to sit on the bed to read or relax. They have no king beds, by the way. And the queen beds are resting on a high platform making it a bit difficult to access without a step stool if you are infirm. Overall, the room was great from a decor perspective, had great toiletries & very quiet. The main complaint is that the food is excellent but very pricey (and you are somewhat stuck with eating at the lodge if you don't want to drive back to White Fish for dinner). We opted for "bar" style food as the "5 Star" restaurant on the premise was just way over our budget, and it was still a fortune, relatively speaking. But we ate in the main lobby in a really cushy leather sofa with a roaring fire before us and it turned out to be delightful, all and all. The staff was very accomodating as well. Breakfast was adequate althought for the price of the room, we expected a bit more quality of food than the "Western Family" yogurt and plain white bread, plain bagels (no pastries or croissants), bananas and ho-hum boxed cereal that were offered.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    89
    51
    20
    6
See reviews for
108
107
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Loved staying at Kandahar Lodge, located in the mountains. Beautiful setting, and a beautiful lodge. Main room has large amount of comfortable seating, with a big fireplace used nightly. What a great place to relax. The rooms are beautifully decorated with comfortable seating, and really nice mattresses. The down comforter was so cozy. Loved the continental breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt, and wonderful muffins. The personnel were extremely helpful and wonderful to talk to. Would stay here again and again. What a disappointment, after staying at the Kandahar, to stay at Glacier lodges at premiere price higher than what we paid at the Kandahar. The lodges are bare bones -- not just bare bones, but almost primitive - taking you back to the early 1900's--. Should have stayed longer at the Kandahar.

Room Tip: No elevator here. Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazz04Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Beautiful lodge. We stayed here while visiting Glacier National Park. The continental breakfast was very nice and the loft room which we stayed in was spacious. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
260 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed in White Fish after several days camping in Glacier. Chose the Kandahar based on reviews, got a good price on the room by taking the "small" room stuck below one of the stairways (it was still very nice and not really small). The hotel is quiet and comfortable, at least it was the week after Labor Day. The setting is beautiful, though we got in too late and left too early to really enjoy it. To our surprise, breakfast was included -- it was just OK, though. Be aware, there is no elevator, parking was down the hill, and White Fish is 10-15 minutes away via a very steep drive!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We spent the first two nights of our Glacier National Park visit at Kandahar Lodge. We are a family of five so we appreciated the loft room which easily accommodated our family. We accepted the offer of the young man at the desk to help us with our bags as the Kandahar has no elevator and our room was on the third floor. (We found 3 floors is quite a walk after a full day of hiking at Glacier!) My husband and daughters enjoyed the hot tub and we found the continental breakfast to be acceptable. The mountain atmosphere is very pretty. We treated our kids to the alpine slide at the Whitefish Mountain Resort late one afternoon and they enjoyed that very much. You will certainly find hotels closer to Glacier National Park but we really enjoyed our visit and would stay again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CincyCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
8.0 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.6 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
15.2 km away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,354 - ₹ 18,022
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing