We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food in Whitefish!”

Mc Garry's Roadhouse
Ranked #24 of 92 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
River Road
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best food in Whitefish!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The caliber of food at this joint was spectacular! Our salads were so fresh and crunchy, and our pasta was deeply cheesy. Would have eaten here every day had we found it early enough in our visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WreakHavock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    44
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unsatisfactory experience”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I was expecting a pleasant experience based on prior reviews.
Our experience started with being brought to our table. When the hostess arrived at the table... She dropped the menus... Then picked up the menus from the floor and then set the dirty menus on the preset table dishes.

Next, we had been recommended to try their fish and chips and also their wok dishes.
Turns out that neither of these were available. The waitress said that they only had 1 chef that could cook these dishes and that he was not there

We then ordered a number of dishes that were mediocre at best. Apparently there were issues with prep timing because a couple of dishes were somewhat cold.

Finally, when we were presented the bill, they added a non disclosed 20% gratuity.

could have been that they were just having a bad day. But, I will not return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KELLDOG, Owner at Mc Garry's Roadhouse, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
I regret that your arrival was marred by the dropped menus! We will not let that happen again! However, beyond that, your party was very vocal (to the point of making the service person uncomfortable) about not having the desired dishes available, and we wondered if you should/would stay for dinner. Stay you did. You ordered, and ate everything. Nothing was turned away, and your meal was NOT cold. Remember this about restaurants, when it starts with your kind of unpleasantness, we keep an eye on you throughout the meal to make sure the rest goes as well as possible. Further, our menu clearly states the gratuity policy. NOTHING is hidden or not disclosed. I consider your review borderline fraudulent, and this type of approach (instead of while you were here) to be cowardly at best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otis Orchards, Washington
1 review
“Best ever! Past, Present, Future!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was our first real visit to Whitefish and we were only here for a few days so hoped to pick the best place to eat for our dinner out! We were lead to the right place!! From the moment we walked in the door, the beautiful decor and ambiance and lighting were so welcoming. Then the owner, Sandy, was very warm and welcoming and took us to a beautiful table by the window. Our server was very good and the whole meal was so incredible it's hard to find words for it. Perfectly done steak for my husband and I had a salmon special with a huckleberry sauce that was to die for!! Everything, including the people were outstanding. We highly recommend this, in fact if you are in Whitefish for only a day, make sure you come here!! We will be back for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester County
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Food and service were great, menu had something for everyone. Cost reasonable Went back for a second night!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

McGarry's was recommended by a friend of ours who is a chef as a place to go for our anniversary. The service was poor. our waitress forgot the salad , we had to ask for bread and she did not check on our meal until we were done. We ordered steaks medium rare and they were medium to well done. Would not go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mc Garry's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mc Garry's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing