We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable rest, great food and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Wall Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Wall Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable rest, great food and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at the Garden Wall Inn. Chris and Rhonda made us feel very welcome and “at home.” The rooms are very clean and comfortable with private baths. The food was excellent. The location was perfect for our visit to the Whitefish area, easy walking distance from the city center with many restaurants and shops. It is conveniently close to Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomCrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
137
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across the country and the Garden Wall rates up there in the best. There is attention to detail - fresh flowers in the room and the bathroom. Wine and cheese in the evenings, chocolates on the bed, and fabulous breakfasts made from local ingredients. The owners are very knowledgable about the area and helpful in making plans. We will definitely stay here again on return trips to Whitefish.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Rhonda and Chris are great hosts who provide a wonderful home away from home [not to mention advise and feedback on what to do and places to go. Breakfasts were delicious. Located within walking distance of restaurants and points of interest in Whitefish. Only 30 minutes from Glacier National Park. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We came to Whitefish for our 4th visit, but our first at The Garden Wall Inn. It won't be our last. Rhonda and Chris are superb hosts, we felt like old friends, both were full of tips about local sites and resources, professional, bright, comfortable, great conversationalists. Rhonda's gourmet breakfasts were the absolute best. And the staff: our rooms were impeccablly done, roses on the end table, everything crisp and beautiful. If you go to Whitefish, try to get a room at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

What a nice change....no TV in the Inn!!! We were a little taken aback by that (never bothered to ask), but what a pleasant surprise. Pretty much have to either stay in your room or go downstairs and socialize with the other guests in the evening, which we chose to do. We had such a good time chatting with the other guests (until very late in the evening) ~ the time just flew by. Room was very clean with the towels changed every day. Talking with Chris and Rhonda was just delightful....what nice people they are. And, both are professionally trained chefs so the breakfasts were quite marvelous and beautifully presented. Spokane Ave. is a busy street, so it was rather noisy with quite a bit of traffic. Unfortunately, didn't get to visit Whitefish as we spent all our time in Glacier.

Chris gave us many great suggestions on what to see at Glacier NP...his father is a ranger there, so he was a wealth of great information. Actually, we talked to his dad at the infomation center and also on the GTTSR which was not open all the way due to the amount of snow this year.

We loved staying here and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy the Bed & Breakfast experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.3 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
28.2 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.7 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Wall Inn

Property: Garden Wall Inn
Address: 504 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
#4 Family Hotel in Whitefish
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,310 - ₹ 20,226
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Garden Wall Inn has been catering to discerning travelers since 1987. The impeccably restored 1920’s inn offers five luxurious guestrooms, each furnished with period antiques. Scrumptious three-course breakfasts are prepared by chef/owners Rhonda Fitzgerald and Chris Schustrom. The Inn is a convenient one-block walk from downtown Whitefish’s excellent restaurants, shops and nightspots. Only 25 minutes from Glacier National Park, the Inn is the perfect base for exploring the Park. The Inn is built in the "Colonial Revival" style with a gambrel roof and clapboard siding. The interior is accented by original solid maple flooring, arts-and-crafts fir moldings, and beveled-glass french doors. The guestrooms’ private baths boast huge claw-foot tubs, pedestal sinks, and black-and-white art-deco tile. Oriental carpets and fine antique furniture complement the lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Wall Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing