We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family & dog friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family & dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here in June 2011 on our way to Seattle. The options for hotels in the area that accept dogs were very limited and we were travelling with friends that had dogs as well. Although the cost of the Kelly Inn is pretty pricy I have to say it was worth every penny! Not only were the beds DIVINE but the customer service from the front desk staff was SUPERB! When we got there there was a mixup and they hadn't scheduled us to be in a dog friendly room, however, they quickly figured out the issue and got us switched quickly. The staff was also super friendly (and quick) about bringing us a rollway for our youngest. They provided us with recommendations for delivery services for a quick meal since our kids were famished. The breakfast in the morning was very good as well, not just the standard continental breakfast. I would definitely NOT hesitate to stay at a Kelly Inn again :)

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a room close to the pool on the first floor. If you have dogs, make sure to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomfamily69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Our staff will appreciate hearing that they were able to help make your stay a just a little more comfortable and less stressful during your trip.

As pet owners ourselves, we strive to make our hotel as convenient as possible for those who need to take their four legged family members along when traveling. Actually our first and second floors are both pet friendly but most pet owners ask for the first floor rooms with the additional outside entrance for the obvious convenience. We only keep the third floor pet free for those with allergies so that we can accommodate everyone's needs. Our web site provides the option to ask for a pet friendly room, but unfortunately, no online travel agency web sites provide that service. We encourage pet owners to call the hotel directly or use or web site to make reservations to ensure that these rooms are still available in peak seasons.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our new expanded continental breakfast and our new Simmons Beautyrest pillow top beds. Our guests have enjoyed these new beds so much that we now have cards in the rooms with a direct contact number to Simmons so that our guests can buy them direct from the factory and have them shipped to their homes. Since your visit back in June we have also installed new 37 inch Panasonic LCD TVs which we hope you will get to enjoy on a future visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    315
    130
    30
    21
See reviews for
394
345
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deer River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Kelly Inn for a week of snowmobiling. We have been coming here for many years and our experience has always been very good. The hotel is kept very clean. The Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone has the largest pool and hot tub. The breakfast is good and hot every morning. The staff is very friendly and treated us like family. Thank you for a great stay always.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 324dave324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your annual visits. We really enjoy getting to know our regular guests and look forward to seeing them again each year. When you live out here in the wilderness, visits from our regular guests actually are like having family visits. We appreciate you coming to see us and hope that we can help you have a great time while visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted promptly and provided with one of their better rooms at an extremely reasonable rate. They have no problem with pets at all just read and sign the pet agreement, no pet deposit! Easy check out with your bill to your card slipped under the door midway through the night. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enigma7321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for submitting a review. We hope you will return to visit Yellowstone again and will choose to stay with us again when you do. We love pet owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We chose the Kelly Inn for a snowmobile trip because of the available suites and the proactive management comments addressing concerns on tripadvisor. The suite was very nice and provided the room needed for keeping organized and gearing up for riding each day. Breakfast was nothing special. Our problem was trying to sleep. The Kelly Inn is a sponsor of dog sled racing and had dozens of teams of dogs with > 12 dogs per team (hundreds of dogs) in the parking lot when they are not racing (see photos). Soon the barking became too much. Teams that arrived late (after midnight) got their dogs out of their cages for feeding which caused lots of barking. The barking was eventually replaced by howling that continued on and off thru the night. A discussion in the morning with the front desk accomplished nothing. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Call ahead to determine if dogs are expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sledriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us during the December 15-17th West Yellowstone Sled Dog Race event. We apologize for any inconvenience due to the noise created by the city wide event during our slow season.

The Town of West Yellowstone promotes many different events throughout the year that cover a wide range of activities that bring people to town. Snowmobiling is just one of many activities that West Yellowstone is famous for. As a local business who provides lodging, we try to contribute sponsorship and help the town promote all local events. We also list all local events on our web site calendar with a link to the Chamber of Commerce for anyone who wants more information about any local event. It is the goal of our web site to inform visitors about all local events, weather conditions and up to date park information so that they may choose the best time to visit West Yellowstone and take advantage of the activities that they are most interested in. Unfortunately, as one of the earliest snowmobile riders of the year chasing early snow, it sounds like you unknowingly arrived in the middle of an annual event that was in conflict with your plans.

The West Yellowstone Sled Dog Races are held for only 3 days in mid December every year but we do get a few sledders in town throughout winter who come to practice. The event is scheduled just after the annual cross country ski event and prior to the normal start of snowmobile season after the park reopens. It is timed to occur during one of the slowest visitation seasons of the year as the entire town is filled with race teams and hundreds of sled dogs. The sled dog teams are spread all over town as they choose their lodging needs from the few hotels open during this time. We were pleasantly surprised at how many chose to stay with us this year as the event has grown in popularity.

We apologize for the noise created here and all over town by so many sled dog teams. The two packs of wolves housed at the local Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center as well as the local wild wolf population tend to howl all night once the dogs arrive. This causes dogs all over town to bark. When you add in the sound of a few early snowmobilers racing through town at all hours, those sled dogs tend to get a bit excited and can become a bit irritating to everyone in town. That is why the event is held at the slowest time of the year, when the only visitors are usually here for the race.

We apologize that our desk staff could not resolve the noise issue to your satisfaction. During winter season we also receive many complaints about the noise and fumes from so many snowmobiles at the hotel and all around town. Unfortunately, the same activities that are greatly appreciated by one group are often a major irritation to another, so tolerance and compromise are a necessary way of life here in the wilderness of Greater Yellowstone.

We want every guest to be happy when they visit us in West Yellowstone but have little control over some of the unique local issues. Therefore, we have an established policy that anytime a guest is not happy staying with us, for any reason, we offer to cancel any remaining reservation, with no early cancellation penalty, and help them find accommodations elsewhere that may be more suitable to their specific needs. Unfortunately, since every open hotel in town is within a few blocks of each other, and the dog teams, snowmobiles and local wildlife are spread all over the area, there is simply no quiet place this side of Big Sky to send anyone looking for quiet accommodations in winter season.

Again we apologize for your inconvenience and hope that your next visit to West Yellowstone for snowmobiling will be more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the Kelly Inn as part of a package with Yellowstone Adventure. The hotel was nice, very clean, and the beds very comfortable. Additionally, the personnel very friendly. As for the breakfast, it had juice, coffee (ok quality), mini donuts, cereals, bagel and bread you could toast, jelly (poor quality) and terrible pre-cooked omelets and ok sausages. You also had fresh oranges and apples. So bottom line, it was ok but not that great. The rooms were quiet and well equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. So all in all, I would definitely return to this hotel. The package with Yellowstone Adventure worked out really well. This is the company to go with if you want to snow mobile. They are also very pleasant, the best snowmobile and very helpful.

Room Tip: The building has 3 stories, with the first floor opening to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thanks for submitting your review. We're happy to hear that you would return to visit us again in the future. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the hot omelets and sausage on our free continental breakfast expanded offering during the holidays. Since we have covered the legal restrictions about serving fresh egg and meat products many times on previous posts we won't repeat them here but we will continue to search for more precooked items that we are allowed to serve as new and better items become available. We will also continue to serve biscuits and hot sausage gravy and hot pancakes in addition to our standard continental breakfast throughout the year. Hopefully by your next visit we will have found some additional legally allowed hot protein items that you might enjoy more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,923 - ₹ 24,330
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing