We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful home town feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful home town feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I run a guest ranch/event center so I know. Staff was wonderful and as described. Food was good at the Bistro...............off season rates make it attractive, will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRanchVictor_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    50
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
116
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late September. We chose Livingston as a base camp for exploring the area and chose the Murray because it's a historic hotel and it looked so fantastic from its website. And it certainly lived up to our expectations. We asked for a quiet room because of comments about noise from other reviewers and had a 1-bedroom suite on the 4th floor. As other reviewers have noted, the elevator is vintage and can only be operated by staff, so we took the stairs which was not a problem for us but could pose significant challenges for some folks with mobility issues, especially given the altitude.

The suite had a sitting room with a galley kitchen at one end, and a leather couch and easy chair. The bedroom had a queen bed and ensuite. The WC was quite compact and had a toilet and shower - the sink was in the bedroom. It had all the amenities you'd need to cook, entertain, have a glass of wine, or relax and watch TV in bed. The only noise was from road work on the street (the entire downtown seems to be undergoing a renewal) but it was minimal and the windows blocked out most of it. The hotel also has an outstanding restaurant, the 2nd Street Bistro, where we ate 2 of the three nights. Excellent food and a superb wine list.

Overall, this hotel exceeded its reputation. Livingston is a lovely town - it has at least 3 independent bookstores and several cafes where you can have a great coffee and pastry and read the local paper. We will definitely stay here again and have recommended the Murray to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quiet. Rooms on the second floor are more easily accessible for travelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodland hills, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

sometimes, when you're on the road for a long time, you miss home. you miss the independence and the throw that sits on the end of the bed. after some research on where to stop between mt. rushmore and spokane, i decided upon the murray hotel. we arrive late in the evening and the front desk attendant (later learned he was the owners' son) was nice and helpful. we checked in, ate at the 2nd street bistro downstairs (must-do), and then unloaded our car. he took us up in the elevator, which was helpful.

my only complaints were that it was a little noisy with the bar downstairs...but, i enjoyed the reminiscent feeling of being in a college apartment.

we arrived on a weekend and didn't have any problems with parking, but i suppose i could see it being an issue during the busy season(s).

the room was an old style room with a comfortable bed and no one knocking on your door before check-out time. i enjoyed the ambiance very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offtolookforamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I don't write reviews very often but I have to say tis hotel was quite charming. Our room was on the 4th floor and had amazing views from bedroom and living area. This was our first stay at a historic hotel and we plan o trying more due to this experience.
The staff is great and the town is quite charming.
Thanks again to everyone at the Murray Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTexasRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We are Montana residents who stayed at the Murray for the first time with my elderly mother enroute to the Beartooth Highway. We really enjoy staying at historic hotels, however in general we were quite disappointed in the Murray and felt that it was not worth the cost. The negatives included: 1) upon arrival, we could not find any parking spaces to drop off an elderly person near the entrance and to unload luggage, as all parking spots seemed to be taken up by patrons of the adjacent restaurant; 2) the hotel has an old fashioned elevator that requres operation by a a staff member. There was no staff present in the entire hotel until 8:00 am on the morning of our departure, thus we were unable to get an early start as planned because we needed to use the elevator to haul our luggage down from the third floor; 3) due to the 8:00 am arrival of the first staff member, there was no complimentary coffee available in the hotel lobby until 8:30 am; 4) the hotel had a small business center with computer and internet service for guests, however, the business center was gated and padlocked overnight and inaccessable to guests until 8:30 am; 5) our room was on the end of a long hallway on the third floor and the closest fire escape was down the hallway in the middle of the building. Had a fire broken out, escape routes may have been inaccessible. I really question whether this hotel meets all fire codes. The only positive was the the fact that the hotel lobby does have historic ambience. The bottom line is that we would not stay here again nor would we recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
25.1 km away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.7 km away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#8 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
37.2 km away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
36.9 km away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 201 West Park Street, (Corner of Second and Park streets), Livingston, MT 59047
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,881 - ₹ 14,391
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is an authentic Western hotel with modern amenities in the beautiful destination of Livingston, Montana. The Murray Hotel occupies 4 floors with 30 rooms or suites that are tastefully furnished with attention to modern comfort and the hotel’s historic legacy. The entire hotel is a non-smoking facility with a rooftop patio that is available for smoking, or just enjoying the mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing