We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Close to the Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

We booked the Absaroka Lodge after seeing it universally recommended by a number of guidebooks. Having stayed there I am of the opinion that these recommendations say more about the surrounding accomodations than about the Absaroka Lodge itself. Not that there is any thing wrong with this place at all. Our room was clean and basic with a nice balcony. There were no fridge or microwave in our room, though I hear some have kitchenettes, so ask when booking if this is important to you. The rooms do have TVs which may be of interest to families since the hotels in the parks do not have in-room TVs.

We initially had reservations at Grant Village in the Park, but were pleased with our switch to Gardiner because it was actually closer to a lot of the attractions in the north of the park that we wanted to see. (The drive from Absaroka Lodge to the North entrance of Yellowstone is 5 minutes or less).

Gardiner itself is very small and quiet which is why we chose it over West Yellowstone and I would recommend it for that reason. Families, though, might feel a little restless there if they plan not to spend every moment in the park as there is not much to do in Gardiner (no pool at the motel either).

If you do stay in this area be sure to check out the boiling river. There is a spot where the boiling river feeds into the cool water of the Gardner River and you can take a dip in the resulting warm water. This one of very few places in the park where you are allowed in the hot springs (most are so hot they will burn you). This attraction is not marked, but you can get to it by parking in the lot for the 45th parallel of latitude (which is on the road between the north entrance and Mammoth Hot Springs). It is about a 1/2 mile walk down a dirt path to get to the bathing pool.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — no fridge, microwave in room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank homebody00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    103
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
104
105
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed for three nights in July and found that the room was clean and had plenty of room for an extra cot. (Family of 5)

The kitchen area came in quite handy for a small breakfast to start out the day.

The A/C however was not working well (not much cool air and water dripping on the floor). We said something after the first night. Nothing changed as the second night was also very warm w/o much cool air. We again told the front desk. We were told it would be taken care of. All we saw were towels placed under the A/C to catch the dripping water. I think we were too tired to care by the third night.

Had the weather been a bit cooler (or the a/c working better), we would have been very pleased as the price was not bad for the size of the room.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — A/C not working well
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TimbersHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

I read about the Absaroka and the Comfort Inn on Trip Advisor. We had reservations at the Comfort Inn prior to that and I cancelled them based on reviews and booked at the Absaroka.

It was a nice little place with good views of the river. We watched mule deer across the river while sitting on our balcony and visited with others on their balcony's. I was worried that it would be noisy, but it turned out to be very quiet. For the price, the room was simple but perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadtownTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

We stayed here one night on our trip to Yellowstone. We had no reservations and were originally thinking of going to the Super 8, but the Super 8 wasn't very inviting. We stayed in a room w/ a small kitchen including a stove and refrigerator. We had a balcony w/ a view of the river. The room was clean and comfortable and the management was friendly.

Gardner is a small town we were about to walk to many shops across the bridge from our location. We were also able to walk to the Roosevelt Arch to take some pictures. One warning, the road from Mammoth to Gardner is probably the most winding in the park.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stray_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2007

My first stay at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge was in the fall of 2004. That experience (see my review) was exellent, and in need of a place with a cook-top (because of the particular kind of coffee maker I carry along) again this February (2007) I bunked there for the second time. Knowing that the "suites" with kitchenettes are limited in number, I reserved several months in advance, especially because only one of the two buildings is used in winter season. I'm very happy to report that the hotel is just as quiet and clean, comfortable and convenient as it was 2-1/2 years ago. Note, however, that I've not stayed there during the busier summer season, so I can't say with certainty that the experience will be the same when every room is full of families with kids.

BYOHD (your own hair dryer) but otherwise the suite is supplied with an odd assortment of Corelle-type dishware, flatware (nothing fancy, which successfully discourages petty theft), a few pieces of cookware, dish soap, dish rag, sponge, dish towel, paper towels, toaster, drip coffee maker, electric cook-top, microwave, fridge, full-size sink (see photo). This is all very handy for early and cost-effective breakfasts, making sandwiches to take for long days in the Park, or for heating up leftover dinners. There is no restaurant in the hotel. Up hill on Park Street is Pedalino's, for a nice sit-down pasta dinner, the other way down the street is Outlaw's Pizza (recommended!) and down the highway a few miles north of town in Corwin Springs, the crazy and surprisingly tasty Asian-inspired Lighthouse Restaurant. There is a decent grocery store in town, too.

The suite is good-sized; all the rooms have either a balcony or a nice little back deck overlooking the Gardner River (town is spelled Gardiner, river is spelled Gardner). There's lots of evidence of mule deer and elk visitation in the grass, so keep an eye on little kids playing out there!

My exterior photo was indeed taken in February. A week later the entire scene was blanketed in 5" of snow (as it should be!)

And there is nothing on this earth like Yellowstone National Park, summer or winter. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank YellowstoneGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
1.0 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.6 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.6 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Property: Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,011 - ₹ 14,473
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing