We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunraven Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
105
129
74
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
129
74
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivereach room has a balconyno frillsnice balconyacross the bridgeplace to staythe ground floorfree wifirestaurants within walking distanceyellowstone national parktwo queen bedsvisiting yellowstonemule deeroff seasonnothing fancygrocery storenight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed for three nights in July and found that the room was clean and had plenty of room for an extra cot. (Family of 5)

The kitchen area came in quite handy for a small breakfast to start out the day.

The A/C however was not working well (not much cool air and water dripping on the floor). We said something after the first night. Nothing changed as the second night was also very warm w/o much cool air. We again told the front desk. We were told it would be taken care of. All we saw were towels placed under the A/C to catch the dripping water. I think we were too tired to care by the third night.

Had the weather been a bit cooler (or the a/c working better), we would have been very pleased as the price was not bad for the size of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TimbersHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I read about the Absaroka and the Comfort Inn on Trip Advisor. We had reservations at the Comfort Inn prior to that and I cancelled them based on reviews and booked at the Absaroka.

It was a nice little place with good views of the river. We watched mule deer across the river while sitting on our balcony and visited with others on their balcony's. I was worried that it would be noisy, but it turned out to be very quiet. For the price, the room was simple but perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadtownTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We stayed here one night on our trip to Yellowstone. We had no reservations and were originally thinking of going to the Super 8, but the Super 8 wasn't very inviting. We stayed in a room w/ a small kitchen including a stove and refrigerator. We had a balcony w/ a view of the river. The room was clean and comfortable and the management was friendly.

Gardner is a small town we were about to walk to many shops across the bridge from our location. We were also able to walk to the Roosevelt Arch to take some pictures. One warning, the road from Mammoth to Gardner is probably the most winding in the park.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank stray_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

My first stay at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge was in the fall of 2004. That experience (see my review) was exellent, and in need of a place with a cook-top (because of the particular kind of coffee maker I carry along) again this February (2007) I bunked there for the second time. Knowing that the "suites" with kitchenettes are limited in number, I reserved several months in advance, especially because only one of the two buildings is used in winter season. I'm very happy to report that the hotel is just as quiet and clean, comfortable and convenient as it was 2-1/2 years ago. Note, however, that I've not stayed there during the busier summer season, so I can't say with certainty that the experience will be the same when every room is full of families with kids.

BYOHD (your own hair dryer) but otherwise the suite is supplied with an odd assortment of Corelle-type dishware, flatware (nothing fancy, which successfully discourages petty theft), a few pieces of cookware, dish soap, dish rag, sponge, dish towel, paper towels, toaster, drip coffee maker, electric cook-top, microwave, fridge, full-size sink (see photo). This is all very handy for early and cost-effective breakfasts, making sandwiches to take for long days in the Park, or for heating up leftover dinners. There is no restaurant in the hotel. Up hill on Park Street is Pedalino's, for a nice sit-down pasta dinner, the other way down the street is Outlaw's Pizza (recommended!) and down the highway a few miles north of town in Corwin Springs, the crazy and surprisingly tasty Asian-inspired Lighthouse Restaurant. There is a decent grocery store in town, too.

The suite is good-sized; all the rooms have either a balcony or a nice little back deck overlooking the Gardner River (town is spelled Gardiner, river is spelled Gardner). There's lots of evidence of mule deer and elk visitation in the grass, so keep an eye on little kids playing out there!

My exterior photo was indeed taken in February. A week later the entire scene was blanketed in 5" of snow (as it should be!)

And there is nothing on this earth like Yellowstone National Park, summer or winter. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank YellowstoneGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

A neat place to stay. Room was average size and clean. Office management was very friendly and helpful. Like most motels mattresses were hard. Wish they had in-room coffee but office had fresh coffee every morning at 7 a.m. Saw deer in and around motel. Gardiner MT is a very small town and not many good places to eat. Easy access into Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ladylacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews