We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 312
US$ 285
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 288
US$ 277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs(Gardiner)(Great Value!)
US$ 310
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
106
129
74
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
129
74
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivereach room has a balconyno frillsnice balconyacross the bridgeplace to staythe ground floorfree wifirestaurants within walking distanceyellowstone national parktwo queen bedsvisiting yellowstonemule deeroff seasonnothing fancygrocery storenight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stopped here one night and were not that impressed. Our room was cheap and moderately clean, small and lacking all the amenities that you might expect in other hotels, like a hairdresser. The rooms are dated and could do with modernisations, especially the beds which are well used. The view over the river is impressive, and the location ideal for walking into town, just across the river. Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The only thing going for this lodge is the view of the river. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, no kleenex, air conditioner didn't work, linens were very cheap and thin, stains on the carpet and chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Although we don't have coffee makers in the rooms we have all the free coffee, tea and hot chocolate you can drink in our hotel lobby.

We do typically have kleenex in the rooms but sorry to hear it wasn't refreshed on your stay. We don't have hair dryers in the rooms but do have them available upon request at the lobby.

We are constantly buying new linens and we pride ourselves on one of the cleanest properties you'll find anywhere.

In January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office.

I'm sure if you make it back you'll have a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

One storey block with standard rooms, all clean and comfortable and basic, but redeemed by the situation and the view, and for me, the sound at night of the river rushing by.

The bed was large and comfortable, and Gardiner itself is a gem of a small town - more of a village, really - and a lovely walk from the hotel, across the river bridge, to find dinner. Several small bijou shops selling Indian and Wild West memorabilila and artefacts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Absaroka lodge is within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants in Gardiner, MT, which is great after a long day of driving through Yellowstone. Great view of the Gardiner River, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Gardiner is a stone's throw from the park entrance and only 10—15 minutes from Mammoth Hot Springs. We saw the whole park from this area, and it was more reasonable than staying in the park. Would recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PorterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The biggest problem was the toilet DID NOT flush and holding the handle down, as the management suggested did not work. We had to go to the local food establishments if we had to necessitate the facility. I complained to management immediately after checking in and he sent a person over with a plunger which did not help. I complained again later that day and the "manager" came over with the plunger and plunged for several minutes and the toilet still did not work. He suggested to "hold the handle until the tank emptied". I complained again at check out and notified him that we had no alternative but to use the toilet this morning and it is not going down at all. He said he would check on it and to have a nice day.... not even a discount on the room, nothing for such an inconvenience/necessity. We definitely will NOT be staying there again on our next visit to Yellowstone!

Room Tip: The window blinds, fridge & microwave were covered with a month of dust (if not more), hair in the tub, the air conditioner/heater is extremely loud and the beds are not the most comfortable, too soft. Don't stay here!!! I would suggest checking the Best Western or some other place in town but not this place!!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay.

You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile/high flush toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.

We normally are praised for our cleanliness so sorry to hear you had the dust problem. I did a complete property walk through yesterday and it's spotless.

If you make it back I'm sure you'll find your next stay a lot more enjoyable. You especially won't have the toilet problem because we bought the toilets that can flush a dozen golf balls:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews