We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Edmonton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stopped here one night and were not that impressed. Our room was cheap and moderately clean, small and lacking all the amenities that you might expect in other hotels, like a hairdresser. The rooms are dated and could do with modernisations, especially the beds which are well used. The view over the river is impressive, and the location ideal for walking into town, just across the river. Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    100
    67
    22
    13
See reviews for
102
101
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The only thing going for this lodge is the view of the river. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, no kleenex, air conditioner didn't work, linens were very cheap and thin, stains on the carpet and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Although we don't have coffee makers in the rooms we have all the free coffee, tea and hot chocolate you can drink in our hotel lobby.

We do typically have kleenex in the rooms but sorry to hear it wasn't refreshed on your stay. We don't have hair dryers in the rooms but do have them available upon request at the lobby.

We are constantly buying new linens and we pride ourselves on one of the cleanest properties you'll find anywhere.

In January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office.

I'm sure if you make it back you'll have a much more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gardiner hotels

Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

One storey block with standard rooms, all clean and comfortable and basic, but redeemed by the situation and the view, and for me, the sound at night of the river rushing by.

The bed was large and comfortable, and Gardiner itself is a gem of a small town - more of a village, really - and a lovely walk from the hotel, across the river bridge, to find dinner. Several small bijou shops selling Indian and Wild West memorabilila and artefacts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Absaroka lodge is within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants in Gardiner, MT, which is great after a long day of driving through Yellowstone. Great view of the Gardiner River, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Gardiner is a stone's throw from the park entrance and only 10—15 minutes from Mammoth Hot Springs. We saw the whole park from this area, and it was more reasonable than staying in the park. Would recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The biggest problem was the toilet DID NOT flush and holding the handle down, as the management suggested did not work. We had to go to the local food establishments if we had to necessitate the facility. I complained to management immediately after checking in and he sent a person over with a plunger which did not help. I complained again later that day and the "manager" came over with the plunger and plunged for several minutes and the toilet still did not work. He suggested to "hold the handle until the tank emptied". I complained again at check out and notified him that we had no alternative but to use the toilet this morning and it is not going down at all. He said he would check on it and to have a nice day.... not even a discount on the room, nothing for such an inconvenience/necessity. We definitely will NOT be staying there again on our next visit to Yellowstone!

Room Tip: The window blinds, fridge & microwave were covered with a month of dust (if not more), hair in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay.

You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile/high flush toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.

We normally are praised for our cleanliness so sorry to hear you had the dust problem. I did a complete property walk through yesterday and it's spotless.

If you make it back I'm sure you'll find your next stay a lot more enjoyable. You especially won't have the toilet problem because we bought the toilets that can flush a dozen golf balls:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.9 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.6 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Property: Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,326 - ₹ 15,122
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing