We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misses the Mark” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Corinella, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Misses the Mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage which was quite neat and clean. However, the room was exceptionally small, the bed was against one wall which just left enough room to get to the bathroom. There was a small table with two chairs and the TV was mounted above this. We forgot when getting up a couple of times and hit our heads on the TV. It was quite a struggle to find somewhere for our bags. There did appear to be other one bedroom cabins that looked bigger.

The cabin is advertised as a kitchenette and it has a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. However, we discovered there was no coffee and when we went to the office we were told it was available if asked for. When we got back with the coffee, we discovered nothing to drink it from! In fact when we looked around there was nothing apart from 3 disposable plastic cups and one bar of soap. By this stage it had all got too hard and we decided to forgo the coffee. Obviously if you want anything that would be standard in other establishments you have to go and ask for it.

The bed only had two pillows which unfortunately were about 1 inch thick and we found sleep difficult. The towels were very thin and looked more like hand towels.

This is well situated for Yellowstone and reasonably priced for the area. With just a little more attention to detail it would be quite good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    48
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is a nice little cottage and just near the north entrance of Yellowstone National Park.(about 1 minute driving).The place is right off the main strip but it’s so quiet. The staff Michael was very friendly and accommodating. (His dog is so cute, too.) Rooms were very clean with basic amenities. The room had TV with cable, table with 2 chairs, kitchenette, coffee maker, wifi , air conditioning. microwave and small fridge. It’s enough to cook the basic food. Some reviews mentioned about that the bathroom is small but it’s O.K. for me because it’s the same size with the cabins in the Yellowstone National Park.. The most important thing is that “IT WAS THE CHEAPEST PLACE TO STAY IN GARDINER.” I reserved a cottage with one queen bed at $78 per night plus 7% tax at Summer season and it’s just the half of the hotel in the park. Hillcrest Cottages has’t its own internet reservation system. You must make a reservation via E-mail or telephone. It’s a little inconvenient to foreign visitors like me. But to the local person, it is totally not the problem I think .The little cottage is the secret garden and greatest value cottage near by Yellowstone National Park.. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diamondcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was our first stay at the Hillcrest Cottages in Gardiner. We usually stay at a diffferent establishment , but they weren't any vacancies. I am sooooo glad they didn't! We usually go to Yellowstone every summer and we always stay in Gardiner, MT ( very friendly town!) We did not know what to expect with the cabins. We have a 9 year old who does not react to change very well. We drove up and our son was crying, as he loved the other establishment we normally saty in. My husband brought out the key and we went in and my son was so excited! He ran from room to room happy! We were elated! We will be staying here from now on! Clean rooms, exceptional owners, roomy cabin...LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heatherchris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Hillcrest offers both cottages and "motel" rooms. The former were already booked when we made our reservation, so we settled for the latter -- a room in a one-storey duplex with a comfortable bed, a fridge and microwave, and a sizeable bathroom (seemed designed to accommodate a wheelchair). There was no daily housekeeping service, which I would have understood had we been in a cottage but was surprised to find in a motel. However, as we were staying only two nights, it wasn't really an issue to make up our own room and re-use our towels.

Hillcrest sits directly above Scott Street, the main road through Gardiner, just before the bridge leading to the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. There are a number of restaurant options nearby. Outlaw's Pizza, at the far end of Scott Street, makes decent if unexciting pizza at a very reasonable price. The Tumbleweed Cafe and Bookstore, also on Scott Street but closer to Hillcrest, offers tasty, healthy meals and snacks and good coffee prepared and served by personable staff. You have a choice between eating inside or on their deck. We also enjoyed Rosie's, near the Roosevelt Arch entrance to the park, for dinner. Doesn't look like much from the outside -- or the inside, for that matter -- but the food is good. And there's a well-stocked supermarket on Scott Street. We were heading into Yellowstone to camp, so this was a convenient place to load up on groceries and ice.

Also recommend Montana Whitewater on Scott Street if you feel like trying whitewater rafting on the Yellowstone River. They outfit you with a wetsuit, neoprene boots, PFD and helmet to keep you dry and safe, and the guide works hard to make sure everyone has a fun time, especially kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed there for 5 nights with my two teenage daughters as we explored Yellowstone Park & area. I felt the the value received was more than fair for the price charged. We stayed in a unit that had 2 double beds and a twin complete with a kitchenette.The cabins provide modern washroom facilities, but the only minor issue was the smaller showers. At $80.00 per night I was provided a clean room, clean towels, and the owners were very personable and more than willing to provide you with area information regarding what to see, where to eat and what to avoid. I would definely recommend this as a great option to stay...and will do so in the future again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ritzmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.7 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.5 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Property: Hillcrest Cottages
Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,085 - ₹ 6,519
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing