We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice,quiet,clean and comfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice,quiet,clean and comfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My Brother and I stayed 4 nigths in Gardiner, the cottage was comfortable and the location is ideal to see Gardiner and Yellowstone from. The staff was helpful and friendly. we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVflyfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    48
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment during the Labor Day weekend. We paid $160 per night. The unit consisted of the main room with a couch 2 chairs and TV. There was a bedroom (queen bed) with attached 1/2 bath on the right. When you walked thru the main room you entered the dining area with a full kitchen on the right. The 2nd bedroom (2 twin beds) was to the left. The full bath was off the kitchen. The unit was a little dated, but it was clean and the beds comfortable. We were able to park right next to the unit which made unloading easy. There is a small grocery store in town that offers just about everything at a reasonable price considering the location. We would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We loved our stay at Hillcrest (stayed 2-nights in the beginning of our Yellowstone trip) and in Gardiner. We got Cottage A, at first we thought it was weird that one room is a "combo" bedroom/kitchen/breakfast room, and the other room is a "combo" bedroom/living room. But we got used to it just fine; and the location of the cottages are perfect, it's basically on the main strip in the middle of the town. We loved walking to the bridge over Yellowstone river and watching folks doing whitewater rafting (which we also did - and I would highly recommend Yellowstone Raft Co). And the inn-keepers are super-friendly, they loaned us a bunch of pots & pans during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bassman4jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in a cottage with two queen beds for one night last week. We thought the cabin was absolutely charming. Everything was so clean. Someone had painted beautiful pictures on the walls which we really enjoyed. It was so very quiet we had no trouble sleeping at all. It was a very easy walk to the Roosevelt Arch which was nice. We asked for some dishes when we checked in and got everything we needed. The free WiFi was a plus as well. The price was more that reasonable for what you get. We would absolutely stay here again if we are ever in Gardiner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisy7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Everything about our stay here was wonderful! I read a couple of reviews complaining about the small size, but it was really just what I would have expected. A cottage is supposed to be little! We had two queen sized comfy beds, nice fluffy pillows, and extra twin bed which we didn't need but provided more space to sit. There was a nice kitchenette with stovetop, microwave, sink, fridge, coffee maker, toaster. Dishes and cookware were available in the office but we had brought our own. Air conditioning, satellite tv, and free wifi were also provided. The bathroom was NOT tiny. It was about what you'd get in an apartment, with a standard shower stall, not a bathtub. Everything was very clean and housekeeping was provided each day. Art and Annie, the owners were incredibly kind and friendly but pretty much left us alone unless we needed something. They had a cute little dog named Rusty that our children loved. The cottages are almost immediately outside Yellowstone's North Entrance and right in town. Walking distance to all restaurants. We got pizza from the K-bar. Not great, very greasy, but we were starving so it tasted good to us! Try the fried garlic dough, it was good! One night we walked down to the Yellowstone Outpost Mall and got ice cream in a little shop. HUGE and yummy ice cream cones and friendly service. Give these cottages a try, you will love them! I would recommend that you divide your stay perhaps between the Cody or West Entrance area and Gardiner....you will have to drive a LOT to see Yellowstone!

Room Tip: Just ask Art and Annie, they are so helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family_truckster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.5 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Property: Hillcrest Cottages
Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,008 - ₹ 6,421
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing