We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in a cottage with two queen beds for one night last week. We thought the cabin was absolutely charming. Everything was so clean. Someone had painted beautiful pictures on the walls which we really enjoyed. It was so very quiet we had no trouble sleeping at all. It was a very easy walk to the Roosevelt Arch which was nice. We asked for some dishes when we checked in and got everything we needed. The free WiFi was a plus as well. The price was more that reasonable for what you get. We would absolutely stay here again if we are ever in Gardiner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisy7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    51
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Everything about our stay here was wonderful! I read a couple of reviews complaining about the small size, but it was really just what I would have expected. A cottage is supposed to be little! We had two queen sized comfy beds, nice fluffy pillows, and extra twin bed which we didn't need but provided more space to sit. There was a nice kitchenette with stovetop, microwave, sink, fridge, coffee maker, toaster. Dishes and cookware were available in the office but we had brought our own. Air conditioning, satellite tv, and free wifi were also provided. The bathroom was NOT tiny. It was about what you'd get in an apartment, with a standard shower stall, not a bathtub. Everything was very clean and housekeeping was provided each day. Art and Annie, the owners were incredibly kind and friendly but pretty much left us alone unless we needed something. They had a cute little dog named Rusty that our children loved. The cottages are almost immediately outside Yellowstone's North Entrance and right in town. Walking distance to all restaurants. We got pizza from the K-bar. Not great, very greasy, but we were starving so it tasted good to us! Try the fried garlic dough, it was good! One night we walked down to the Yellowstone Outpost Mall and got ice cream in a little shop. HUGE and yummy ice cream cones and friendly service. Give these cottages a try, you will love them! I would recommend that you divide your stay perhaps between the Cody or West Entrance area and Gardiner....you will have to drive a LOT to see Yellowstone!

Room Tip: Just ask Art and Annie, they are so helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family_truckster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I decided to get a room with the kitchen just so that I can cook instead of eating out. There's only 1 grocery store in the town of Gardiner that close @ 9 so if you plan on cooking you better get out of the park earlier. All I need to do is to ask for pots & pans, utensils and plates from the rental office and I can start cooking. The bathroom looked new to me so they probably did some fixing up. Room is clean and they also have satellite TV. I liked it a lot especially I get to enjoy a hot breakfast fresh from the stove. Price is very reasonable and the area is quiet. Not too far away from the Roosevelt Arch like the other bed and breakfast place (about a 5 minute drive). I will definitely go back if I decide to visit Yellowstone again.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room that has a kitchen if you want to cook. U only pay a few bucks more per nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bundan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived in Gardiner without a room reserved and were referred to Hillcrest by another booked hotel. We managed to get a room before they were all taken and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean with a remodelled bathroom and kitchenette. The air conditioner was a god-send because it was a brutally hot day. Only minor downside--no dishes provided, so be sure to bring your own. The room had its own little patio and bench where you can take in the view of the hills and mountains across the river.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Spent 2 nights here along with 6 other couples. We had one of the 'motel' rooms. The rooms was small, but nicely furnished. Large bathroom. Had great service. Easy walking to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcv563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
740 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.8 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,975 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 km away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Property: Hillcrest Cottages
Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,028 - ₹ 6,446
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing