We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than my high hopes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My boyfriend and I, after a LOT of research, determined that our first time to Montana should be at the Rainbow Ranch. We were looking forward to this trip and had high expectations that were totally exceeded.

Firstly, the pictures do not do the place justice....it sits on a quiet stretch of highway but nestled back in the mountains on the river. Spectacular views, gorgeous rooms. We splurged on the Ermine Suite (I highly recommend it!), but I think you can't go wrong staying anywhere here. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

Check in was a breeze, room ready with music and cookies - clean and perfect. Breakfast is Continental but you can absolutely fill up on it - great granola and homemade muffins, scones and quiche (met the woman that bakes it and she was very sweet). We were there during shoulder season, and it was a bit quiet but you'd never know it by the service. They laid everything out as if the place was totally full.

I think that really speaks to the Rainbow Ranch, top service and little touches at all times. Don't forgo shoulder season - it's wonderful there! The restaurant was closed when we were there but they open it for guests and what a treat! Pricey...but the best meal we had in Montana (seriously - excellent). Emily did a great job of making us feel comfortable and when the picture she took of us at the table didn't come out well due to backlight, she suggested we take it outside on the deck.

One morning I was taking breakfast from the main lodge back to our room and I believe it was Molly who came running out to help me carry it! I was ok but how incredibly nice. Are you getting the picture of this place? Fireplaces I believe in every room and they set them up daily for you (and our room had THREE!).

Perfect location too...easy drive to Big Sky Town Center and also to Yellowstone. Montana at its best. We were a couple, were next door to a single traveler and saw other couples and families and EVERYONE seemed to be having a great time.

I can't say enough good things about the memories this place created for us. FIVE STARS!

Room Tip: Ermine Suite has an outdoor fireplace and is worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NantucketGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

Lovely setting, luxurious accommodations with WBF,
wonderful included breakfast, terrific (although pricey) dinners and truly exceptional service-the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJBCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Rainbow Ranch Lodge. The service and food were great. The staff seemed to be very customer service oriented and accommodating. We did stay here during the "shoulder season" when they were not very busy but the service and food were excellent. We stayed in the Otter room and found it to be very comfortable. The one dinner we ate in the dinning room was excellent. The house-made charcuterie was very good and the entree's we ordered were flavorful, cooked to temp and seasoned well. The wine list was also very good. The contientntal breakfast was delicious. We appreciated the freshly made quiche and scones. Good fuel for our hiking expeditions. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable experience that we would recommend to others. We look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main lodge may be quieter and offer a bit more privacy than the larger rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayfaring_strager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your thoughts and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rainbow Ranch!
We will be looking forward to your return trip! Until then take good care!
Mollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We took our son and daughter-in-law along with our two dogs to Rainbow Ranch Lodge for a night to sample their wonderful food from the dining room and enjoy a night out together. The lodge is beautifully done and the staff was wonderful from beginning to end...friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a fireplace ready for the light and the rest of the room nicely decorated and well set up so our dog could enjoy the evening also. We took the dogs for a walk up the hill behind the inn for some play and exercise. Cookies and wine were in the room for us to enjoy and two bowls were provided for each dog. Cocktails at the bar were wonderful with the bartender recommending one of their specialties...an old fashion with house made grapefruit bitters....it was fantastic! The dining room was the real reason for our visit and we were not disappointed. The gnocchi in the mushroom veloute and black truffle was to die for as was a special offered that evening....pheasant. It was a truly terrific experience and since we live in Montana, we will be back again soon to see Rainbow Ranch Lodge in a different season.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia7521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest,
It was lovely to have your family at Rainbow this past April! So nice that you enjoyed the many aspects of our property from the hiking trails to the amazing cocktails! We are putting the final touches on our summer menu (soon to be unveiled on our website) and hope that you will bring the family back to experience more!
Until then, take good care!
Mollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Right from our initial booking to our check-in and beyond the crew at the Rainbow Ranch Lodge had thought of just about everything to make our stay a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Our room was so lovely, when we first walked in the door the room was warm with welcoming cookies, chocolate truffles and a bottle of champagne. How spoilt we felt! The open fire was all set just waiting for us to light it. The large soaker bath was glorious as was the shower. The shower head was the size of Montana - obviously no water restrictions here!!! As was the double size closet space.

The king size bed was deluxe, comfortable and with a myriad of lights to choose from. At first we couldn't find the TV, it is ingeniously concealed. I won't spoil it for you.

Our room was decorated in a modern log-cabin style - cosy but didn't feel like a cheesy theme park. It had the charming log wall, large river rock fire place, gorgeous recycled timber floors and moose antler light. For us Aussies this is a special treat.

We didn't eat dinner at the resturant but if the complimentary breakfast was any measure you would not be disappointed. We enjoyed our breakfast, everything was home made and delicious.

As the hot tub was closed for repairs we were given a voucher to enjoy a drink from the bar. It was a great gesture and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the barman was great, chatty and didn't mind us 'picking his brain' for travel tips. Oh, and his cocktails were fabulous.

If I had to be picky, the room only had one towel each and no hand towels - extra towels would have been nice. But, that is picky because I am certain that if I had asked more towels would have appeared without any trouble.

It's hard not to wax lyrical, I wish we could have stayed longer, our room was beautiful comfortable and the location on the river is really pretty.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle_6532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
16.4 km away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
578 reviews
16.4 km away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
5.7 km away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
125 reviews
16.2 km away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
253 reviews
16.4 km away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Address: 42950 Gallatin Rd, Gallatin Gateway, MT 59730-9643
Region: United States > Montana > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range: ₹ 12,484 - ₹ 20,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing