We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One word...AWESOME”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

From the moment I called to inquire about a reservation through checkout this was one of the most amazing travel experiences I have had in 30 years of globetrotting. The lodge is lovely, beautifully maintained and peaceful. The landscape was a winter wonderland, and I cannot wait to see it in summer too! The Ermine suite is rustic elegance, warm and inviting and wonderfully appointed. I recommend it highly, all of the rooms are lovely, but the Ermine is something special. On top of the accommodations, Mollie and the entire team were superb hosts, almost one step ahead of you in anticipating your vacation wishes. They were very helpful in arranging fabulous experiences--we went on snowmobile and dogsled adventures and our lovely hosts made our reservations and provided us with all the details.

I love to travel and have stayed in some remarkable resorts, but the Rainbow Ranch has raised the bar on customer service and I cannot wait to return to Montana for R & R at the RR!

Room Tip: All rooms face the river or pond and the mountains...so no losers here. However, the Ermine suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    42
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
132
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My husband and I looked at a few diff places in Big Sky and once we walked into the Rainbow Ranch it was an instant love for the place and what comes along with it:) And the beauty of the location, lodge,dinning,and staff:) Mollie for one is who I would look at as ROYALTY!!! She came with this great package as a wedding planner and helped us create a wonderfull setting and stress free and added touches and would had never guessed that any wedding planner could make u feel so special and she till this day has done that for us and we will keep comming back many times during the year and forever:) The Chef is to die for really amazing and nothing you will ever had dreamed of eating in your life:) The Pastry Chef is awesome and her creations will floor you as well:) The Bartender and Bartenders are the best at creating diff drinks and to perfection!!! And the bar is so relaxing! As well as the Waiters the most personable you will ever meet and take care of you while you sit in a dinning room filled with an amazing view and warmth:) As well as being greeted and checkout the front desk are always friendly and helpful:) and u will look forward to breakfast in the mornings before you leave because no one has this kind of selection:) The rooms are amazing the thought that went into them makes you not want to leave the rooms and the fireplace inside and out is so charming along with the suttle music as you walk into the room with fresh cookies in a simole clear jar:) If u are to get married here and need a great photographer "LARRY STANLEY" would be the one to have do the pictures you will always wanna look at over and over again:) trust me!!! And Darius married us and he put such a great speech and thought into our wedding I would had never wanted anyone else:) Anyhow if you want a place that you will never wanna forget choose the Rainbow Ranch no matter if you dont live in Montana or close to here it would be worth the stay and a spot for a future wedding:) Thank you Rainbow Ranch for making this a place we look forward to:)

Room Tip: I would choose the bootom rooms by the pond:) I love the spacious room they have and the beds are am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend in this wonderful lodge surounded by gorgeous scenery and absolutely loved it. The personnel are the friendliest and best informed of anywhere we've stayed. The setting amidst snow-covered meadows and mountains was exquisite. Each night, when we returned to our room, a fire had been laid and was only a match-strike away. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and well-prepared with fresh ingredients. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindadelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

we chose the Rainbow Ranch Lodge b/c it is halfway between Bozeman and Yellowstone. it was a wonderful place to stay, despite being on the main road. our room, and i think all the rooms??) faced away from the road towards the Gallatin River. the Room was more than spacious with tons of closet space, as was the bathroom with 2 sinks and a lovely large shower. room also had a fireplace which was a nice romantic touch, tho it did tend to smoke a little into the room initially until we opened a window to get a draft going. another nice touch is daily homebaked cookies - if only they were calorie free!
the main building is also nice with a well stocked bar and a fantastic, if pricey, restaurant. had it been open every night, we'd have probably eaten there every night as the food was delicious!
the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, even to the point of supplying me with Vit C 2 mornings as i had a mild flu! they were also very helpful and prompt in attending to other requests - more kindling, new soaps etc.
our only suggestion is that service needs a tiny bit of tweaking here and there: housekeeping forgot to replenish soaps and the bathmat on more than one occasion, kindling was not replenished, a blanket was left on the floor despite the bed being remade.
we also think there should be a note that the water above the mini fridge is filtered (we only found out 3-4 days into our trip), a light should be installed above that fridge as you can't see to make the coffee, and honey and creamer should be supplied to go with the coffee and tea.
having said all that, none of that would be an excuse not to go; this is really a very lovely hotel in a MOST beautiful part of our country and we would definitely return if we ever find ourselves back in the Big Sky area again
TIP: sign up for massages in the spa cabin and ask for Barb Van Erp of Alpine Massage of Big Sky and/or Liz Allen of Focus Massage in Bozeman. both women were most friendly and gave EXCELLENT massages!

Room Tip: make sure to get one with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peripateticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My family (three boys 2, 4,5) husband and I stayed here for a weekend in the shoulder season (October) – it was terrific! I can’t wait to come back.

This is not a working Dude ranch rather a 5-star style lodge. Everything at this lodge is understated and extremely comfortable and in tip-top shape – there is not a hair out of place. The staff looks after every detail no matter where you look. The décor is stylish, very Montana, but not over the top “ranchy”. There is a lovely stone fireplace with big comfy, leather sofas near the bar area for relaxing, cocktails and breakfast. There is a huge porch overlooking the Gallatin River and a gigantic mountain. The outdoor gardens, trout pond, fire pit and grill area are all designed to perfection. Rainbow Ranch has the biggest tiled hot tub I’ve ever seen next to a gigantic stone fireplace – and it all over looks the lovely grounds, river and mountains. The staff is extremely professional and attends to every detail without being stuffy or overbearing – everyone was incredibly friendly, helpful and nice.

The rooms are equally understated and charming. Our room had 2 bedrooms with cool queen sized log beds. Soft sheets and real down pillows made for good sleeping. There was a stone fireplace at the foot of the bed with a pre-made wood fire, ready to go. We also had a very nice sized porch/deck with Adirondack-style chairs for relaxing. Thick towels, Mouton&Brown toiletries and nice water pressure rounded out the accommodations.

Best of all was the food. We ate dinner one night in the dining room and probably had the best fine dining meal we had all year. This could easily be the best place to eat in all of Montana. The entrees ranges from $30-38 to $47 for the specials. And it was worth it. I ordered Quail with farrow, and wilted greens. My husband had the Elk – cooked to perfection. The service was knowledgeable, friendly and really paced the meal well, especially since we had our young children with us. The home-made charcuterie platter for appetizer and home made desserts and ice creams were out of this world. The wine list was extremely well chosen and broad enough to satisfy a range of budgets. Continental breakfast was included with our room, and at first it seemed a bit modest but after sidling up to the bar, it was simply perfect. Everything was homemade: zucchini bread, almond croissants, plain croissants, pistachio filled éclairs, raisin scones, sun dried tomato and spinach quiche, quiche Lorraine, free-range hard boiled eggs, amazing from-the-oven granola, fresh yogurt and delicious fresh fruit salad. They offered 4 kinds of juices, delicious coffee and teas.

I would stay again here at any time – I really loved this place, as did my children. While its not a “kids” place, we felt very comfortable here as did they. There were about 2 other rooms with small kids when we were there. Rainbow Ranch is about 20 minutes from Big Sky ski resort and about 45 miles from the west entrance to Yellowstone. If you want to hike Ousel Falls and explore Big Sky or hike to Lava Lake, this is a great basecamp. If you want to stop by here en route to Yellowstone – Bozeman, it’s a terrific choice, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
5.7 km away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
680 reviews
16.4 km away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
546 reviews
16.2 km away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
9.4 km away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
16.4 km away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Property: Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,209 - ₹ 23,385
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing