We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Barely adequate and overpriced for what you get” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pioneer Lodge

Pioneer Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Benton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barely adequate and overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

My Mom and I made a trip to the area for a class reunion. A simple upkeep of the facilities would have greatly improved the experience. It was a great location, and has great access to the river, but it was overpriced for the quality. Unfortunately there is only one other choice. Spend the extra and take the other choice.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamaramac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

As the other reviews say, the owners are very friendly. The room's floors, bedding, bathroom was clean, but thick dust has collected in areas that obviously do not get attention. There is not a microwave or coffee maker in the room, so i ventured to the hallway (which is where their breakfast/coffee area is) to use the public microwave, but did not since it was disgustingly dirty with food and fingerprints inside and out! So much for trying to warm up with hot instant cocoa. Why was i cold? Because the room i stayed in (number 1) gives you no control over the heat. I had a hard time sleeping and ended up taking all the bedding off the other bed in the middle of the night because i was so cold. For the price, i did not want to complain too much. But, then in the morning, i thought i'd at least i'd get a hot shower to start the day- NO! I let that water run for 5 minutes, and still no hot water! aaarrrgh! Breakfast?! Powdered donuts and room temperature fruit juices (because they don't keep it on ice and just leave it sitting out in this hallway i mentioned before). I don't mind taking the cheap route sometimes, but this was ridiculous. Next time i'll pay the extra money for the Grand Union just down the street.

  • Liked — The price and the owners friendliness and helpfulness
  • Disliked — No heating in the room, no hot water for shower, disgusting breakfast/coffee area
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkkawmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

A very reasonably priced hotel, right by the banks of the Missouri, in the historic little town of Fort Benton. We stayed, for one night, in a room with a queen bed downstairs and two single beds on the mezzanine. Perhaps the spiral staircase (see photo) wouldn't be ideal for small children or the elderly - but it was fine for us. The only really odd things were that the windows in the rooms face out into the corridor - and the toilet seat was made out of peculiar squashy plastic, the like of which I've never come across before! Everything is clean though - and the owners are very friendly, nice people.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moo_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2005

We stayed at the Pioneer Lodge Motel for 1 night in June 2005 in a spacious room with 1 queen bed and two twin beds on mezzanine. Perfect for families. Very nice, central location in Fort Benton, overlooking Missouri river. TV and A/C in room. Basic Breakfast with muffins and cakes.
Excellent service and very moderate prices!

Helpful?
1 Thank magali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Benton hotels
0.4 km away
Grand Union Hotel
Grand Union Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fort Benton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Lodge

Property: Pioneer Lodge
Address: 1700 Front Street, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,424 - ₹ 6,126
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Pioneer Lodge is located in downtown Fort Benton across the street from the flowing Missouri River. We have 10 beautifully appointed rooms in comfortable homey decor, feeling like a glorified bed and breakfast. Each room has its own theme and unique decorations to depict the history of our area here in Central Montana. On location we have free wifi in all rooms and the spacious lobby, continental breakfast each morning, and all restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We have guest laundry facilities. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. Just ask all those who have stayed here and continue to return year after year. We are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing