We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Comfortable, Simple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stayed in one of the cabins. Surprise... Terrific Bed. Small Bathroom but great water pressure and plenty of hot water. I was alone and beyond two people I cannot imagine.
Had all the windows open (hot during day) so cooled quickly when sun went down. Lots of trees, etc so even with windows open remained very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cptrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed in a cabin and it was very efficient and suited us fine. We didnt spend much time in the cabin as we were exploring the park. There is wifi available by the restaurant, which was easy to walk to if you needed to get on line. It is really close the wild goose island, which we went to many times to take photos at different times of the day. beautiful

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Xanterra operates this rustic lodge and cabin in East Glacier NP. The cabins are basic but clean and well-maintained. The dining room's menu is limited but the food is well prepared, the service is good, and the prices are affordable. Unlike Delaware North, Xanterra provides value to it's customers not just profits to its shareholders. Though we stayed in mid Sept of 2017 when the smoke from the fires was so heavy one could not see across the valley and masks were being offered (free, I'm sure Delaware North would have charged $10 for one) to anyone who wanted one, we enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Go with a cabin over the motel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We enjoyed our one night at Rising Sun in one of the cabins. We thought the cabins were a little better taken care of than those at Swiftcurrent. I cannot comment on the views, we were there during the height of the wildfire smoke the first week of September, but the pictures sure look nice. Pretty much everything you need in a park cabin - clean, comfy, and cozy. Enjoyed the short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danwad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This small cabin was perfect for two people. As in all National Parks, there are very limited "amenities". However, that's to be expected...rustic charm is the way to go. No TV means we could listen to the Great Horned Owls hooting outside our window.
The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable. The shower was adequate. The sinks are old school...two taps that do not combine to make warm water. It's a pain, but it doesn't really matter. Housekeeping was very good about reusing our towels to save water/energy/soap...a hallmark of the National Parks. We thoroughly enjoyed our cabin stay for 3 nights...in fact we booked a fourth night before leaving for home.

Room Tip: I really like the cabins, we've been 3 times...I've never stayed in the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Glacier Park
39.6 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
35.9 km away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
259 reviews
14.5 km away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
955 reviews
35.5 km away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
1,152 reviews
34.9 km away
Mountain Pine Motel
Mountain Pine Motel
#1 of 6 in East Glacier Park
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins

Address: Going-to-the-Sun Road, East Glacier Park, MT 59417 (Formerly Rising Sun Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > East Glacier Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in East Glacier Park
Price Range: ₹ 6,061 - ₹ 6,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1940, Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins sits adjacent to spectacular St. Mary Lake inside Glacier National Park and is surrounded by soaring mountain peaks. In addition to 72 cabins and motor inn rooms, you will find the Two Dog Flats Grill, campstore, and gift shop. Red Bus tours, boat cruises, and numerous other activities are available at this centralized location. All guestrooms at Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. In keeping with the era in which the rooms were built, they offer guests limited amenities and old-world style accommodations resulting in a one-of-a kind National Park lodging experience. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Motor Hotel East Glacier Park
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing