We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
82
143
69
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
143
69
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslogan passgeneral storesun roadnational parkcamp storewild goose islandmary lakesun pointrose creeklake stduplex styleshuttle stopsurrounded by mountainssmall cabintwo double bedsalarm clockst mary
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I'm so happy that we chose to stay here for the longest leg of our trip. The room was awesome. Super spacious and comfortable, especially being in one of the corner rooms since that meant we got two walls with windows. The bathroom was small but very clean. The decor was cute and I enjoyed having no cell service, wifi, or tv in our room. (My husband did have service on his verizon work phone, though, oddly enough).

The location is perfect. We were close to many hikes and it's the closest hotel to Logan's Pass. The inn was also only about 45 mins away from Many Glacier hotel, so we did go to that area to hike and ate at the hotel one night but without having to pay the extra money of staying there. On our way back to Rising Sun we saw bears in the meadows along the road right near our inn. It was awesome.

Also, breakfast at the restaurant was great. Highly recommend the sweet potato pancakes with huckleberry sauce. Yum!

Overall great stay and would highly recommend the motor inn rooms!

Room Tip: Corner motor inn rooms are spacious, clean, and offer lots of fresh air
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Since a lot of the reviews talk about wifi, I want to let you know that Verizon has decent service in this area. I'm posting this right now sitting on a overlook of the lake.
It also works fine in our cabin and at the lodge, so good, I don't need to log into their wifi at all. I only have 2 bars of LTE but it's enough for this, Facebook, email, and google maps. Even videos seem fine.
There is no signal anywhere else in the park until you get to McDonald Lake.
Verizon has a travelpass for Canada for $5.00 a day for unlimited voice and data.

The cabins are very cool old-school buildings. They have an ironing board, iron, hairdryer, and a coffee maker.

There is no AC only a box fan that We turned off because it got cool in the 1st week of July. There is a heater if you need it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Inside Glacier National Park. Very close to St. Mary and surrounded by Mountains on all the sides. There is a creek which flows nearby.
The staff at reception was friendly similar to other national parks.
And the Cabin we had was amazing. It was cozy, clean, rustic and with all the necessities.

There was Coffee maker, hair-dryer, good soap, shampoo, an Iron.
Although the bed was a little too soft for our taste.
I would like them to be a little bit more environmentally friendly and get rid of plastic coffee pouches, stirrers. Even Coffee-maker can be removed. We are in a national-park.
And may be reduce the price a bit.

It is great that there is NO WIFI in the rooms.
And the restaurant is on the property serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kshitij P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Husband and I stayed in Room 20 for 4 days, 3 nights, over the July 4th holiday. What a great place to stay! The place was recently renovated in 2016, and our room was just perfect. Very comfortable bed, desk with 3 drawers and chair, leather(ette?) club chair, storage chest at the foot of the bed, two night stands each with two drawers, 3 lamps each with built in plug, alarm clock, ironing board, iron, updated bathroom with corner shower... and did I mention the bed - very nice and comfy! When we come to a National Park, we have reasonable expectations of basic comforts and a convenient base from which to explore the Park. Rising Sun was so much more than expected! No, this is not the Ritz, and no, there is no air conditioning, and no, there is no cell service nor wifi in the rooms, but Rising Sun Motor Inn is, without question, the IDEAL location from which to explore one of the most gorgeous parks in the National Park system, and to which to return after an exhausting day of hiking! Even after returning to our room after the temperature reached 87 degrees F, our room was actually nice and cool. The room came with a box fan which we did use for air movement. We both used ear plugs for sleep (I always do at home...) because the box fan makes sound, so if you're a light sleeper you may want to consider bringing some. The wifi signal in the main building was good, and there was something refreshing about not being tied to our phones all day, every day. there is a restaurant on-site (see my separate review of Two Dog Flats) and a convenience store with reasonable prices. The only very minor concern we had was parking. Each of two buildings houses 14 rooms, 7 on each side), and on our side of the building, there were four handicapped parking spots and only 3 non-handicapped spots. Two of the handicapped spots were reserved (one for room 28, the other for room 15 - we assume these are the handicap-accessible rooms). We returned from a wonderfully exhausting day of activities to find there was no available non-handicapped parking spot for our car near our room. Yeah, i know, first world problems... we went back to the check-in desk and were told that since the rooms were sold out and the handicap spaces would not be used we could park in one of them which made us feel a little awkward. Regardless, we can strongly recommend the Rising Sun Motor Inn!

Room Tip: Room 20 along the backside of the building farthest from the main building and store. Very quiet when we were there over July 4.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed here and in Swiftcurrent during the same trip because we couldn't get reservations for all our nights in one place. What a difference between the two places. Where the Swiftcurrent staff was friendly and helpful and gracious, the Rising Sun staff was officious and carefully unhelpful when we made a similar special request of them. The Swiftcurrent motel rooms were older, but better suited for travelers...2 chairs and a table in Swiftcurrent; one chair and a narrow desk in Rising Sun. Also - there is really only one trail leading from Rising Sun, while there are numerous great trails leading from Swiftcurrent. Glacier is an amazing place to visit, but Rising Sun motel rooms are not the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews