We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

OMG they are awesome. Rented snowmobiles and had the best time. Didn't know about the cabins in time to stay there but will remember for next time.

Great group of people running the place and they are pet friendly.

They treat you like family and their prices are affordable. Can't go wrong with them.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Loved this place! Quaint, rustic and a tad romantic. Thankfully the vacancy light was lit up from the highway or we never would have found it!

Would love to go back with the kids and a large group of friends or family!

Cabin was plenty roomy enough for a family of 5. Small bathroom and small hot water tank, but still worth it in my book. Great price and friendly folks!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ajkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Guest Relations Manager at Black Diamond Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit with the grandkids and other family. It was great having you two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We rented the Lodge for a catered CHUCKWAGON BBQ, what a fantastic meal!!! Nice lodge seating for all our ole people!! Jim Beal was a Great Host!! Kelly cooked a fantastic meal!! It was fall of the bone delious!! Very accomidating to move outside tables around for after dinner relaxing and talking! Was a nice day and a great place to sit around and Gab!! The only trouble was after signing contract and talking everything over with Jim the first time when he told what he could do and I signed the papers, on the second time to confirm once again that everything was set up for the few disability people and elderly would not have any trouble I met a new office personal Ellen who added new charges to another contract and then waived the new charges but put pressure on you to pay the higher price of the second contract! Not great in the PErsonal Relations department! I had purchased 33 dinners paid for in advance. Put specifically colored name tags on the people that paid, she still required people to sign in at the table if they were going to eat, Which I was alright with ! But some of the people talked past the sign in sheet , but I had already checked them in! One couple arrived late and didn't require eating they never do at our affairs! But Ellen counted them anyway! We had 2 dinners that were paid for and not eaten. We also had to have $150.00 security deposit for drunken distruction of property, refundable in 7-8 business days. We ate in the lodge and went outside around a nice campfire and sat and talked! Nothing damaged there!! It was a Great time had by all. But you can't try to change the prices, and a little better PR would be nice as we all enjoyed it so well we tipped at the serving table and I was going to tip the rest of the paid meal money but Ellen just kept it anyway! No choice! And was so grumpy! Thank you Jim Beall for the fantastic meal and great lodge to enjoy the country setting! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Get it in writing the price as it may change! Cabins are quaint ! Wifi in lodge!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here to explore the area and enjoy the bueatiful Hiawatha bike trail. Lovely people that work there and the owners are very kind. This is a ranch and the cabins are nice but this is a ranch. We srayed in cabin 1, this is off on the side and if you got kids its the way to go... its more private. My children loved it. We were close to I90 and it was very hot during our stay, with windows and door opened road noice was loud but not to the point where we didn't sleep. Beds were comfy. To be honest we used this place to eat one dinner and sleep and shower. Both nights everyone was so exhausted that we passed out. If we come to this area we will stay here again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank cjsan2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Owner at Black Diamond Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

The entire staff at Black Diamond Guest Ranch wants to thank you for visiting us and for your kind words and review at TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We stopped in late one night at the beginning of our road trip. The staff was very friendly and it was great learning about the area. The ranch is recently under new ownership. Our 2 large dogs were welcomed with no extra fees. We were so happy here, we stayed again on our trip back home. The spring water coming through the faucets tastes better than our water at home and the water pressure was good. The old cabins we stayed in were well kept and clean. Cabin 3 and cabin 4. They provided a fan and coffee. Movies for the tv's were available, but we didn't watch tv. We walked through the lodge before we left and it was beautiful. Great place for an event. We have to come back again.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 2geocachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews