We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and Dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simple and Dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Dude is a simple and decent hotel/motel. The staff is very friendly, free WiFi and cable in room. No fridge or microwave but small coffee maker is included. No frills and appropriately priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogperson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thanks for taking time to post a review. We hope to see you again! If you would like a micro/fridge, please request one when reserving your room, as over half of our rooms DO have them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    88
    56
    44
    22
See reviews for
66
75
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon,WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here while visiting a friend in Billings. The downtown location was great,and it was just over half the price of the top rated hotels in town. Room was adequate for our needs,and we slept well in the bed. I thought the coffee in the lobby was very good,contrary to some other reviews. We made some side trips,and the lady at the front desk was very helpful in planning our routes for maximum scenery. All in all it was a nice alternative to the chain hotels we used for the rest of our trip,and we won't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu122208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We're so glad that you had a pleasant stay! I will share your comments regarding our Front Desk with them! They are all certified "Billings Ambassadors" and know just where to direct you depending on your interests. Glad you like our coffee! We use whole bean and grind it "fresh per pot". We hope to see you again!

MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, WI
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The room was fine, a little dull but o.k. Good location to downtown restaurants etc. The breakfast at their restaurant was so, so. Not many healthy choices. The coffee was very weak!! Coffee needs to be upgraded as this is a very important factor for many travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dleigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thanks so much for posting a review! Gosh, I'm sorry you found the room to be a little dull! Our food in the restaurant is so good! Healthy choices?? Hmmm - maybe not so much! Biscuits and Gravy, Steak & Eggs, Pancakes, oh but hey, we have Oatmeal! At any rate, thank you again for writing and we hope you come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here with my husband and two children on our last night of vacation before we flew out. The location was great. The price was fantastic. The staff was helpful about restaurants and also when I asked to change rooms. The rooms were OK. I changed rooms because it had a jacuzzi tub with jets that were very moldy and I had to give my small children a bath in it. The room was generally clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. We received our wake up call promptly as requested. The bedspread was pretty horrible with a LARGE brown stain in the middle of the bedspread and lots of stains on the other side. I'm sure it had been washed and was just a stain, but was pretty disgusting. I just took them off and put them in the corner of the room. The sheets were very clean though. The room was fine for us and great on the budget. If it weren't for the jacuzzi tub and the bed spread I would give it a higher rating. I was in room 107 with the red sink and moved to room 105 with the green sink which had cleaner jacuzzi jets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review. And a BIG thank you for listing your room numbers so that we could personally inspect your rooms. We have given a copy of this to our housekeeping department (regarding the jets and the stain on the spread). You're right, it was an old stain that did not come out but it DOES look disgusting! It has been replaced! We're glad you liked the location and found our rates reasonable. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We booked this hotel based on western theme, price, and mixed but mostly favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and that the manager had responded to a few comments on Trip Advisor. It was quaint, the western theme was awesome and the lobby looked inviting but that was where it ended. The front desk staff that checked us in wasn't as friendly and welcoming as their brochure claimed. Once in our room there was a large stain on the carpet inside the door. We knew the rooms were small but with the 2 double beds, armour, table/chairs and fridge there was barely room for us and our bags. We knew there was only the option of heat or a/c but even with the fan blowing for 2 days it was very hot in our room ... so hot that we slept on the beds instead of in the beds! The bathroom fan rattled, the jets in the tub looked dirty ... which we did leave a note for the maintenance man. There was crack in the brick walls (yes, I know it is an old building) and cobwebs on the wall.

The girl who did our check out was very friendly and the price was affordable. So the concept of the hotel was awesome, the brands on the carpet were cool and the price was right but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
We're sorry that you did not feel you were welcomed to our hotel! I was able to track your room number via the comment card you completed (thank you for taking time to do this!) and I looked at this room the day you checked out. You are absolutely right! You had some issues that were totally unacceptable. We should have moved you to another room immediately and worked to correct all of the problems. What you experienced is not up to our standards and we have consulted with front desk staff, maintenance and housekeeping to rectify this. As difficult as it is for a property to read a negative review, it is extremely helpful for us in that it enables us to improve where we need to. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.4 km away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#22 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#27 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.9 km away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#4 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,175 - ₹ 6,944
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing