We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Hardin, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I saw a majority of positive comments for this hotel, and went ahead and stayed. Mistake! The staff was rude, untrained, and clueless. Housekeeping didn't even bother to hit our room 1 of the 4 days we were there for which we were met with excuses - we had to take out our own trash and go hunting for trash bags and towels, the room was tiny with barely enough room for two people to move about freely, the tub would barely drain, need I go on? Will not stay here again. One final note? They charge your card for the entire stay upon check in, and when asked for adjustments tell you you have to talk to a manager who "Will not be back in till next week." Uhg.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, but if you must, avoid the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear valued customer:

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying.

Please know that your feedback is extremely important to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property as well as training and re training of staff. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and will hope to see you again your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, please contact me at 406-252-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    45
    28
    21
    57
See reviews for
72
45
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Front desk polite, helpful and courteous! Room is nasty, smelly, dark and dank. Stains on carpet, mattress and horrific dingy sheets! Parking free, wifi free, cont. breakfast free. Location not bad. Called choicehotels and booked this dump for 80 when I should have gone sleep inn or hampton! Oh well!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faron S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to complete our Guest Survey. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and I hope to see you again during your next visit, Please know that these issues will be addressed.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 406-252-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I became a stranded traveler and checked in to the econoldge. I was met with very helpful staff who went above their duty to assist me and make my stay easier. The housekeeping staff is great and do a great job caring for the room. The location of the hotel is easy, and the price is fair. I would and will be staying there agin in the future. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor! I am so glad that you were happy with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnatti, ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I had family stay over the Thanksgiving weekend here. When we checked in the room it was outdated, small and filthy! As was the second room they offered us! When we asked to refund our money they refused even though we hadn't even been there 10 minutes!! Looking back now I believe that the owners and the rest of the staff are writing "good" reviews to lure people into the hotel thinking it's a nice place and robbing them of money and a good experience. Funny how the last few reviews are all praising the hotel AND are all written everyday or every other day??!?!  This hotel should be reported to the better business bureau! What a shame that this hotel gives the city of billings a bad name when out of town and in town guests experience this  terrible hospitality. If anyone is reading this review DO NOT LOCK IN YOUR RESERVATION WITH YOUR CREDIT CARD!!! THEY WILL CHARGE YOUR CARD NO MATTER WHAT!! If you are dead set on staying at this place PLEASE go there and look at the rooms first before you hand them your credit card!! Oh and P.S. For families with children, a porn store is right across the street from this hotel!! STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here at the Econo Lodge. Our reviews are real and valid from our guests. I have spoken to the staff and we have made all necessary changes to fix these problems. I apologize and invite you back to give us another try. We do appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

This EconoLodge went above and beyond to accommodate me. All while training a new employee.

Room Tip: The street suites has great accessibility to your vehicle. While the inner door was accessible to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Thank you for posting your review with Trip Advisor! We take pride in giving our guests an outstanding customer service experience! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
1.2 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#31 of 51 in Billings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Billings - West End
1.1 km away
Comfort Suites Billings
Comfort Suites Billings
#25 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#21 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 5425 Midland Rd, Billings, MT 59101-6347 (Formerly Kelly Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,738 - ₹ 6,895
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econolodge is conveniently located off of exit 446 off of Interstate 90. Fast food as well as family dining are within a 5 block radius. We are centrally located to shopping and Billings area attractions. We are pet friendly, offer free wi-fi, guest laundry services, free continental breakfast, expanded cable and have an indoor jacuzzi and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Hotel Billings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing