We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ski fare”
Review of Jack Creek Grill - CLOSED

Jack Creek Grill
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lone Mountain Trail
Description: The Jack Creek Grille serves elegant dinners in a beautiful setting. The Jack Creek Grille is located in the Moonlight Lodge.
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good appetizers but average food, service was good. Nachos were huge but ok in taste

Thank reddhead_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Your description of your dining experience most certainly does not match that of what our team strives for. Please accept our sincere apologies. If you are ever unsatisfied with any part of your meal please let our team know immediately so we can correct it and give you the quality and service you deserve. We invite you to join us again and give our team another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is the second half of my review comparing Peaks and the Jack Creek Grill (formerly the Timbers). I like the changes to the layout of the restaurant, it's better separated from the lounge/bar area, though it's a far-from-racous crowd that populates Moonlight, anyway. We came after dark, but I would highly recommended coming earlier just to see the spectacular view out the massive windows. This grand setting means that the Jack Creek Grill is less intimate than Peaks. It has always had a slightly more formal feel to it, with soaring ceilings, massive fireplaces and large tables.

In the past i have been reluctant to bring the kids here, but under new management the menu is much simpler, the preparations relying more on fresh, flawlessly- prepared ingredients than fanciful recipes. Our waiter was less overtly friendly than at Peaks, more of an extremely professional European-style waiter. Again, the service was flawless.

The bread basket/oil/balsamic vinegar was good but nothing outstanding. We had a flavoful cheese fondue for a starter. My trout was excellent ( nary a bone to be found) and i heard little from the other side of the table where the teens were devouring their root-vegetable and cheese lasagna (the name doesn't do that dish justice) and tempura shrimp with vegetables. My spouse's salmon was to be prepared medium and was perfect. The desserts were very good, though my daughter's chocolate terrine seemed quite small, just a thin slice.

All in all, we had a wonderful meal in a spectacular setting with excellent service. At both Peaks and Jack Creek, the portion sizes were adequate but not large, which I prefer as a light eater who likes to try as many courses as possible. If you're looking for a cozy, yet sophisticated meal the Peaks is for you. For the " wow" factor, the Jack Creek Grill is the one. Either way, the food will not disappoint, though on thes two nights I'd give the slightest of leads to the Peaks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your Jack Creek Grille experience. We truly appreciate it. We love to hear from our guests and take their comments to heart. We will share you review and kind words with our staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again. As always, if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay with us more enjoyable please just let our team know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I will miss "Timbers", but the newly opened Jack Creek Grille under new ownership features a more varied menu, better prices and the same great service. Thanks Moonlight!

Thank Chris645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for giving Jack Creek Grille a try. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The food was outstanding & very reasonably priced! We were a group of only 3, we all ordered something different. One had JC house salad & short ribs, one had Fr.onion soup& orzo, & lastly, butter wedge salad& trout.
Every dish was So-o flavorful! The service was quite good even though they were slammed with a party of 64!!! To top things off,they have an excellent complimentary shuttle service!!!! We loved this dining experience!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mallardlady130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for trying Jack Creek Grille. Much has changed since your last visit, but the same great atmosphere, service and cuisine remains. We invite you to return and see us again next time you are in Big Sky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Jack Creek Grille (formerly Timbers) is the "signature" dining at Moonlight Basin Ski Area, adjacent to Big Sky Ski Area. We visited this restaurant for lunch in January 2012. One can reach it by "trail" from Big Sky or by "shuttle/van". The luncheon experience was superb! So much so that we returned for dinner that same night.

Our annual friends/family gathering or 20+ persons of all ages is always Week #6 of the timeshare calendar. Thus, we happily arranged a "special dinner" for all at Jack Creek. Might we simply say that "all plates were 'cleaned'". Truly wonderful fare, at a "fair" price. The service was excellent, as well as the wine, beer, and spirits.

If one wishes to dine in a SPECTACULARLY beautiful dining space, with Rocky Mountain Goats ascending the beautiful fireplace, gracious service, and delicious entrees... THIS is the place!! All right there in BIG SKY COUNTRY!!

The most "selected" entree was "Bison Short Ribs" truly special. There are entrees for vegetarians and children. NOT to be MISSED!

Restaurant Manager, Carrie Chapin, and her staff, as well as Chef Eric can create a memorable evening for a small party or a party of 20+. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sovernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Jack Creek Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for the glowing review of Jack Creek Grille!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing