We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Row farm”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Alison R
1 review
“Row farm”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We loved this cottage, warm, cosy and everything we needed. The kitchen could do with a cosmetic upgrade but it didn't detract from our enjoyment of the place. We hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Dear Alison,
Thank you for your review,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilT1209
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Row Farm Cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great little cottage with very friendly owners. Only slight negative is that you have to walk through the double room to reach the twin room. We worked out a system so no issue for us. Cottage is well furnished, clean and functional. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
T
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eurotrave...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We chose Row Farm as it was close enough to everything we needed!!! We were thrilled with our choice!!! The very lovely owners were gracious and super helpful, they were ok with us turning up at 10pm after a long journey down after a working day.
The cottage is super clean, really inviting and frankly - perfect!
I would absolutely recommend asking the (lovely) owners to give you directions before you set off, as its relatively rural. But rural in a lovely, peaceful way!!!
We are looking forwards to visiting again very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skypar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can I keep this place a secret?”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well, I almost don’t want to write the review as I want to keep this place as my own personal secret. However, I feel it’s only fair that I share my family's wonderful stay at Row Farm Cottage.

There were 3 of us in our party, myself, my wife and our 5 year old daughter. We are used to doing static Caravan holidays where everything is on site, so this was something a little different, and as such we had no idea what to expect. We need not have worried though!

Firstly the driveway down to the cottage, it can appear at first to be a little steep, but after a few days of driving around the area, and once you have done Hardknott Pass you will soon realise it’s a total breeze. Any normal wheel based car will be able to get up and down it without any problems. We certainly never had any, even on the days it rained.

The cottage itself is set on 2 acres of land on a working farm with Sheep, Chickens and working sheep dogs including Molly, the puppy. My daughter absolutely loved staying here and we loved the freedom that we could give her, as it is totally set away from the main road. In the mornings we could just open the door and off she went to play with and talk to the chickens and the dogs. Pretty early on in our trip Ava developed a fondness for Molly the puppy. On the Wednesday morning Ava came running back in to the cottage with a fresh chicken egg that Stephen, the farmer, had taken her to find and had given her. She was so delighted and wanted me to cook the egg straight away so she could try it. She said it was great. I will have to take her word for that, as she was not for sharing!

The cottage itself is laid out perfectly with a twin room off the main bedroom upstairs. Downstairs, the Kitchen has everything you could need to cook, and the living room is more than adequate for 3 \4 people to stay in.

We met Jonny (Stephen's son), and also later on in the first day met with Stephen himself. Both are very friendly and easy to talk to. Even though Stephen is very busy working on the farm and attending to his some 700 lambs and 200 sheep, he still made time to talk to us at length about his times on the farm. He was also able to recommend some good places for us to visit and pointed us to the guide books, brochures and leaflets left in the cottage. We found these to be really helpful indeed, and in fact even took the Brochure with us on our daily outings.

As others have mentioned the mobile signal on the farm is not great, but it’s not much better anywhere, due to the hills. There is Wireless available, but unfortunately a BT fault meant that we lost our access halfway through our stay. Not really a huge issue to be honest, as your there to get away from the rest of the world anyway.

I would recommend going up and sitting on the rocks on the hill, and looking out towards the bay \ railway viaduct and watching the sun set. Take a glass of wine or a beer!

There is so much to do in the surrounding areas. We really enjoyed the Steam boat on Lake Windermere, a visit to the Aquarium, and the Steam railway from Ravenglass. We also had a fantastic day at the Safari zoo. A Zoo unlike most as you are actually in with the animals most of the time. We fed the Giraffes, and also watched the Tigers climbing 20 foot poles to get their food. I would highly recommend these outings. We also had a day in Windermere, walking around all the little shops, a day in Kendal, an evening in Whitehaven for fresh Fish and Chips, and a day in Barrow in Furness - complete with Sand Castle building on the beach.

There are plenty of places nearby to eat out too. We tried the Brown Cow, just along the road and the Ratty Arms in Ravensglass. There is a local shop in the nearby village of Bootle and a small Tesco in Millom that easily provided you with just about anything you could need during your stay. There is also a great take away place in Millom called Caspian where we had fantastic pizzas from! Oh an be sure to try the Ice cream, its amazing!

We enjoyed our stay so much, and found that we did not have time to do all thing things we wanted to do, so I am sure we will be back to the Lakes, and will be staying at Row Farm cottage again.

We can't recommend this place enough. Go try it for yourself, you will not be disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family safe farm environment - great for kids. The views and Scenery
Liked least: Can't really think of anything we did not like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you very much,
Regards Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing