We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've stayed at the University Plaza Hotel a few times now. The staff is always friendly & helpful. The rooms are spacious & clean. The complimentary breakfast is a nice added bonus. Normally if a complimentary breakfast is offered it's bagels and doughnuts, but the University Plaza offers a buffet consisting of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, fruit, cereal, waffles, etc. The free Wi-Fi is very convenient and they have a computer lab if you don't have a laptop of your own. Although they are kid friendly, they provide adult privacy as well. We will continue to stay there every time we stay in Springfield!!

Room Tip: Each room has its own A/C controller, so you can be comfortable away from home! I've stayed on t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sammie1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Guest satisfaction is one of our major goals, and I am happy that our staff was able to make your experience with us enjoyable each time you are here, thank you for your continued patronage with us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again when you are visiting Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 977 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were there for 3 nights. Couldn't ask for nicer staff. Food was great. Great area, felt
safe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to improve while being able to accommodate all of our guests a little better upon each visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Attended a convention at this hotel with my wife. They exceeded all our expectations. The attention to detail is obvious. I'd call it a first class resort hotel. The food was delicious at the banquets and the breakfast bar was top notch. The atrium is beautiful and inviting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jvcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Your kind words about our service culture are more than appreciated! Taking care of our guests is always at the top of our priority!. I will pass your comments along to the TEAM and I am sure many will be so happy to see that you recognized them. That will make their week! Until we see you again, best wishes & safe travels, Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Great place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was exellent. Will make it a point to stay there whenever I'm in Springfield.

Room Tip: We used the stairs on the north side because we wanted to. Ice was on North side. Elevators were onS...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Donnyhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

What a pleasure it was having you stay with us at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, we are just steps from popular destinations including MSU and Hammons Field. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are visiting Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was a wonderful hotel we stayed at. Found it through Hotels.com and got a good rate. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was over the top good! Full buffet style, hot breakfast. Clean tables, and dining room with staff willing to help clean up or get you more food or coffee. Breakfast included free. Hotel is walking distance to Hammons Stadium and several restaurants as well as downtown. It is not right off the highway, as it is next to MSU in downtown Springfield, but well worth staying here. I would totally go back and stay at the University Plaza if I am ever in the area and needing to stay over night! Rooms was comfortable, clean, and roomy. One of the neatest things I have never seen at a hotel was they leave a card on the bed letting their guest know that they are more interested in serving people than being a money making institution. They have like a prayer card they leave blessing each guest!

Room Tip: The bathroom is super roomy - and love the large counter inside the toilet/shower area so that you c...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CindyC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to record your feedback on Trip Advisor! We do appreciate all comments from our guests.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location that offers our guests a variety of entertainment options including the Springfield Cardinals as well as many other exciting Downtown events while they are here on business or leisure travel.

Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level as we did with you.

Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope to become your hotel of choice when you stay in downtown Springfield and visit downtown again!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 km away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
4.9 km away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
4.5 km away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.7 km away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: ₹ 7,067 - ₹ 10,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing