We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chicken enchilada”
Review of Mexican Villa

Mexican Villa
Ranked #196 of 680 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
springfield, mo. USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chicken enchilada”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Love the chicken enchiladas! Have ordered it almost exclusively for 38 years. Family friendly, home-owned. Not really authentic Mexican, but more southwest, but really tasty, and an addiction to my family.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luvlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    10
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adios”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Not clean, cold food, uninterested wait staff.......Never again. I hav e been many time over the years and it's just gone down hill. We have lots of great Mexican food here. I will choose another spot.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Songbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite American Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a Springfield MO thing. When I go anywhere on vacation I have to go to Mexican Villa when I get back. It's not original Mexican but very tasty. My husband and I can eat for less than $20.00. Try the sancho enchilada style. Very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local flair”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A lot of people will say this isn't tradtional Mexican food and they are right....but...that doesn't mean it isn't still good food. I don't know what kind of cheese they use, but for me it makes the dishes. A wide selection of dishes at reasonable prices. The only negative I have is the hot sauce (you can't call it salsa) that comes with the chips.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank vickere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Staple in Springfield For Years.”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Good tex-mex food, reasonable prices, service usually good. South Campbell location gets busy, but has nice atmosphere ( best decor of all their Spfd locations) if possible go during non prime times to avoid the wait.
East Sunshine location across from St. John's Hospital missing decor and more for dye hards, but food still good.
South National is the original location- go if you want nostalgia and same piping hot food. The Kearney Mexican Villa El Taco is good for a fix. It has no decor but has served the north side for years. Same goes for the El Comida located on S Glenstone. Does have slightly better atmosphere than Kearney and is a tad larger.
I always order the Burrito Enchilada Style. Taco burgers are good, but messy. If you like it spicy use the hot sauce/salsa on the table. They have sweet sauce for the meek which is very thin and slightly sweet. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motokins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexican Villa also viewed

 
Springfield, MO
Springfield, MO
 

Been to Mexican Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing