We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Romantic”

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 3,180 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 60
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Corner of Broadway and Pine
Transit: Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.
Description: ** HOLIDAY HOURS ** Christmas Eve 5-7:30pm (reservations only) Christmas Day CLOSED New Year's Eve 5-9pm (reservations only) New Year's Day CLOSED Kemoll's offers gorgeous banquet halls, wedding reception venues, and fine dining, with a stunning spectacular 360 degree views of downtown STL! If you are looking for St Louis Banquet Venues, St. Louis Wedding Reception Sites, or Private Party Facilities that offers friendly, gracious service and excellent food, combined with the dazzling views of the Arch and city from the 40th & 42nd Floor, your search has ended here. Kemolls & Top of the Met are the places to be! We also offer a First-Rate St Louis Catering Service!
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We went here for a special occasion, full disclosure - we also used a Groupon discount. The views of the arch and Mississippi river are very nice. Unfortunately, we had an odd corner table where one person faced a wall and the other faced the window. Aside from the table the service was good, The waiter did a good job of handling the diverse group of patrons from those that may have never been to a fine restaurant to those that eat at top shelf places all the time. The menu had a variety of main courses and the wine list had something for everyone. The veal masala was cooked to perfection and very satisfying. The eggplant parmesan was a bit undercooked and too crunchy for my taste. I prefer eggplant that is creamy and mild rather than sour and crunchy. Overall, I rated them okay because it seemed like they tried.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shibumi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarqueeMedia, Public Relations Manager at Kemoll's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine at Kemoll's. We're thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience with us and enjoyed the veal. We certainly hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

For over 40 years we have dined at Kemoll's, now in their third space over these years.
High in sky you can see the perfect view of St. Louis Gateway Arch and the Stan Musual Bridge. So much for the good. We entered the dining room which was in disarray. Half the tables were not set or organized. It had the look of depression. The fried artichokes were not as good as we remembered, a lot of breading. The cheese bread has been on the menu forever with good reason. The house salad order never came. The veal par-mason was enough food for a football team, too much! Loaded heavily with cheese and could not begin to eat half of it. Service was not so wonderful either; it feels as if no one cares about Kemoll's any more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarqueeMedia, Public Relations Manager at Kemoll's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine at Kemoll's. We're thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience with us and that you have dined with us for over 40 years. We certainly hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were fortunate enough to eat here twice with family. Once was with my parents, the other with the whole family and many friends for my brother and his wife's wedding reception. Both occasions did not fail to disappoint. I ordered the steak with a special sauce. Amazing. My wife had salmon, also very very good. Drinks were great. The bartender would listen to orders and make any drink to order. Great view. Excellent staff.

Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarqueeMedia, Public Relations Manager at Kemoll's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine at Kemoll's. We're thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience with us and that we "did not fail to disappoint". We certainly hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Visited Kemoll's with friends. Their free parking entrance is on Pine at the Met building which holds the restaurant..the restaurant is on the 40th floor. First of all, if you can, request a table near the window for the great view of the city. Otherwise, you might decide to get up once or twice to check it out. Our waiter was generally attentive, though not unobtrusive nor naturally gracious (minor negative). Nonetheless, he did a good job. Fried spinach appetizer was very good, light, maybe a bit much oil for some...but a good light appetizer for 2. The complementary cheese bread was brought to the table, 1 piece for each of us. It is excellent. We didn't ask for more...I don't know if they would bring more. The house salad was tasty, above average, not standout. We had an unusually long wait for the entree but we took it as an opportunity to talk. The Chicken Parm was average...not as good as Maggiano's, for example. The sauce was rather bland and the chicken itself not the best. I would not order that dish again. Sun-dried tomato side pasta was above average. My wife had the tenderloin risotto which was outstanding. Bananas Foster topped it off...very good balance of cinnamon and flame, probably best to split the dessert (as one should anyway per my wife). For the price, I would take other options. Though the view is great, the atmosphere is a little dark for my taste. The food is above average, but not for the price. No regrets, especially having gone with friends, but probably won't go again any time soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarqueeMedia, Public Relations Manager at Kemoll's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine at Kemoll's. We're thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience with us. We certainly hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Wife and I recently had dinner at Kemoll's it was our first time at the restaurant. Couldn't ask for a more breathtaking view of St. Louis and the surrounding area. The restaurant is located on the 40th floor of the Metropolitan Building in the heart of St. Louis. After being seated at our table we enjoyed the view for a few minutes and then we were greeted by our waitress. She was very informative about their Menu and answered any questions we had concerning the dinner. The food we order was delicious and plentiful and if you order a salad it comes with their signature cheese garlic bread which is unbelievable. I had the Filet Douglas which was cooked as ordered and incredible. My wife had the veal which was very good as well and a plentiful portion. Was looking forward to the bananas foster for dessert but it was unavailable. Instead I had the deep fried cheese cake which was very good. We will return to Kemoll's for a special occasion and the bananas foster.

Thank Fittycent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarqueeMedia, Public Relations Manager at Kemoll's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine at Kemoll's. We're thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience with us for your first time. We certainly hope you will dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kemoll's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kemoll's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing