We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food! Great service! Very romantic! For a "hotel restaurant" ...it could not b beat! ”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 3,261 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: 4th Street
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House specializes in serving aged USDA Prime steaks, broiled in a trademark 1800-degree oven and served on a plate heated to 500 degrees to ensure the steak stays "sizzling" hot. To experience fine dining at its best … Just follow the sizzle to the nearest Ruth's Chris Steak House.
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Dark, rich wood, soft romantic piano, full silver and crystAl setting
Everything perfect! Enjoyed every bite of my lobster, creamed Cajun corn, and bread pudding out of this world!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank maryannabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

I was dining here with some clients and I have to say that the food was mostly very good (steak was a bit too fat and tough for my liking), the wine was excellent and the staff were brilliant - really looked after us and made sure we wanted for nothing.

I'd thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Suggest taking a lot of money. Very good food for a very hefty price....but all Ruth's Chris are like this.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

My husband and I read a lot about Ruth's Chris steakhouse (in the Hyatt Hotel) before making our reservation. The steak was good but I would not rate it any higher than a rib eye steak from the Outback...just more expensive. The best part of the meal was the atmosphere...nice and quiet with low lighting and great service from the staff.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CurlyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We have been fortunate to enjoy Ruth's Chris dinners on a number of occasions in a number of cities. Unfortunately, the service level of this destination was sub - par. We waited to be seated -- without a suggestion to go to the bar, which would have worked for our party -- so we waited -- at least 1/2 hour. Once we were seated, we waiting to be acknowledged; no set ups, no glasses, no water for at 15 + minutes.

It was Christmas Eve and we wanted to have a good time and be forgiving -- our server tried her best to over for the poor support she was receiving from her team. Our sizzling steaks appeared with our dirty salad dishes on the table; the runner struggled to remove our dirty plates and get the sizzling ones on the table. He did a good job frankly. No one stopped by to see how we were doing......$59 for a steak, we should get a follow up.

The final straw, our desserts were delivered after going to another table to drop the check and chat. So, we received the added blessing of lots of extra germs.

Sadly disappointed, not sure that we will go back to any Ruth's Chris in the future -- there are competitors who haven't disappointed. We did ask to see a manager; he was apologetic- but the expectation for this type of restaurant requires consistent service. Tough to overlook this experience.

Call ahead, make sure they are not over booked or dealing with the holiday traffic.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank SusanA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing