We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 179
US$ 148
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 129
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ignacio(Saint Louis)
US$ 200
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 112
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott St. Louis West(Town and Country)
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 96
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Avyan(Saint Louis)
US$ 109
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Plaza Hotel(Clayton)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
912
259
62
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
259
62
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe loopeclipse restaurantrooftop barmoon themespace themeblueberry hilldelmar blvdsound machineboutique hotelwashington universitycool hotelfun hotelrain showerforest parkjacuzzi tubrestaurants and shopsconcert venue
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Quirky, boutique type of hotel. Nice staff, white noise machines in rooms, comfortable beds. Dog friendly is a mixed blessing...there were lots there, and not all so friendly. One elevator was down while we were there, so we had to use stairs....$17 bucks for valet parking, for them to park it 20 yards away. Overall, nice, but not compelling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank StRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMmoonrise, Assistant General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent experience at Moonrise Hotel. Having an elevator out of service is not ideal however we had to remove it to ensure the safety of guests, I apologize about this mechanical mishap. We understand being a themed boutique property is not something everyone will like; thank you for giving us a try.

Regards,

Jake Westcott
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here for one night as a little get away. Our room was beautiful! The bed was very comfy. The valet guys were very nice and helpful. We went out on the town for the early evening but then went to the rooftop bar later in the night. The rooftop was a happening place and a lot of fun. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMmoonrise, Assistant General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We look forward to having you back as our guest for your next stay! Thank you for your review.

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

My husband booked us an overnight stay at the Moonrise Hotel as a part of a surprise weekend getaway for us! It was wonderful! The hotel has a very retro/space vibe, with little nooks and crannies filled with moon memorabilia and knick-knacks, the lobby area was beautiful with backlit phases of the moon, an LED staircase and Chihuly chandelier! Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff were kind and friendly! The Eclipse restaurant had fantastic food and cocktails, and the rooftop bar had an amazing view! Since we were on the 6th floor, the room very thoughtfully included a white noise machine (the rooftop bar is on the 8th floor) but honestly, after walking the loop and park area all day, a great dinner and drinks, and a relaxing round in the jacuzzi tub, we didn't have a bit of trouble sleeping.
The only problem, and a funny story, too, was the vending machine on the 6th floor. We put our money in and pushed the tab for a Diet Coke, and it gave us a Fanta Orange. Thinking we were clever, we put another round of coins in and pushed the other tab for Diet Coke and got...another Fanta Orange! We laughed about it, and just brought them home for our kid to drink. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMmoonrise, Asst. General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Moonrise Hotel! The memorabilia is all the owners personal collection and if you enjoyed the display cases at the hotel, if you return, you should stop for dinner or drinks at Blueberry Hill to see more of his collections. I will request for Coke to be more diligent when they stock the vending machines on the guest floor however if it happens in the future the Front Desk is happy to exchange the items.

Again, thank you for your wonderful review!

Jake Westcott
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We were in town to attend a wedding. Unfortunately my husband became very ill and required hospitalization. I extended our stay by 2 nights and also got an additional room to accommodate my daughter and son in law. When he was discharged and able to fly back home we obtained a nonstop flight for 4:15 PM. Check out time was noon. I asked if we could have a late check out at 1:00PM explaining that my husband had a heart attack and needing extra quiet time. The woman at the desk's immediate response was no, that the hotel was booked but they would hold our bags and we could "hang out in the loop." The loop being the neighborhood street with a mid day temp of 101 degrees.
In addition to that rudeness, there were multiple issues with reservations being wrong both related to central reservations and with the hotel directly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMmoonrise, Asst. General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

I am very sorry to read of your experience. This is surely not what our customers have come to expect of the Moonrise Hotel nor indicative of our service. Your reservation was originally booked through a third party website and then extended at the hotel so if you have additional details about the multiple issues you encountered I would be happy to address them.

Regards,

Jake Westcott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Our guests stayed at Moonrise Hotel the weekend of our wedding plus we had our post-wedding brunch there in the Gemini Room. My now-husband and also stayed in a suite the night of our wedding and had the honeymoon package! I can't say enough about the hotel and the friendliness of everyone we dealt with.

Amy, Wendy, Krista, Erin were all SO friendly during all of our pre-wedding communication and during. Their cheerful and helpful personalities showed through on the phone, email, and in person. Kevin was so attentive and on the ball during our post-wedding brunch.

Our guests just raved about the hotel. They came from the east and west coasts and they loved the cool decor of the rooms and lobby combined with Midwestern hospitality. They loved the check-in drink on Friday. Several people raved about the mattresses – they are super comfortable.

Our guests also couldn't believe how cool it was that they could just walk outside their door and go to cool shops and indie restaurants. They didn't have to rent a car at all. They took an uber to the City Museum.

We stayed at the hotel in a Walk of Fame suite the night of our wedding and it was luxury! The suite was just gorgeous and we loved the couch /living room area, the dining table, and the counter area in addition to our bedroom. Very cool furniture and lights plus great windows. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was fantastic. When we came back that night there were rose petals leading into the the bedroom and arranged in a heart on the bed. There were delicious chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us on the dining table. It was such heaven staying there.

On Sunday we had a private brunch for our guests in the Gemini Room. It was the perfect size and there were bright windows. The brunch was not only laid out just so but each and every dish was delicious. The scrambled eggs were flavorful and perfectly cooked. The bacon was perfectly crisp and delicious and the homemade pastries were to die for. The chefs at Eclipse obviously know how to make food for a lot of people taste good – that's hard to do. Kevin was an absolute doll and oversaw everything to perfection.

I can't recommend Moonrise enough.

Room Tip: Walk of Fame suites are very nice if you like to have a common area with a couch and dining table.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-Nuptials-2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMmoonrise, Asst General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your rave review of the hotel and its services, I am thrill that you and your guests enjoyed a wonderful experience! It is an honor that you chose to share such a special day in your life with us and that we helped to provide great memories for you to reflect upon. We would love to have you back to celebrate your anniversary!

Cheers,

Jake Westcott
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews