We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Where I'll be staying when I visit STL from now on” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonrise Hotel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Where I'll be staying when I visit STL from now on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have family in St. Louis and we visit there every year. We had separately booked several rooms over a recent weekend, and the front desk staff accommodated us by placing us in the same wing on one floor.

The rooms were spacious with either two queens, or a king bed (and the king rooms had a lime green fainting couch). We thought the decor was fun. We all enjoyed conveniences like the mini-fridge, free wifi, and free parking. The beds were overall very comfortable, but a little on the soft side. Of the several vehicles in our group, only one car for one night needed valet parking; the other times, free parking was available in the lot behind the hotel.

The hotel is also located within walking distance of many casual, non-chain restaurants. It's close to Forest Park and right on The Loop. This is where we'll book our future visits to St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We are glad you enjoyed both the hotel and the neighborhood! We look forward to your next stay with us. Please let us know how we may assist.

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    232
    56
    27
    22
See reviews for
237
474
76
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My mom and I had tickets for a show at The Pageant, so we decided it would be worthwhile to not have to drive after the show. Not only was the location great, but it was one of the best overall hotel experiences we've had. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. The decor made it a fun and hip atmosphere without being overwhelming. (The rainbow light up staircase was a personal favorite.) The beds were also very comfortable. Great value! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please see us again during your next visit to The Pageant!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at the Moorise recently for a couple of nights (mid-week) based on its proximity to The Pageant (where we saw a couple of shows) and whole heartedly recommend it!

Before I go any further, I should point out that we got a good (but not fantastic) rate via Hotwire and that has some influence on my feeling. Not only because it was a deal, but also because it seemed clear we were treated just like any other guest even though we had booked the room via a “bidding” site (which isn’t always the case).

I just can’t speak highly enough of our experience. Check-in went without a hitch; we weren’t able to get the exact rooms my wife was told to request (when she had called in advance to request two beds and a “quiet” room) as they weren’t clean yet; but they did accommodate the both requests and we were given a room at the end of the hall and we got the room before the official check-in time.

The lobby was nice (as were all of the public spaces) – a little on the sparse side, but in tune with the modern nature of the hotel – as was our room. Yes, they have a whole “moon theme” going on, but unlike at least one reviewer it didn’t bother me.

Every staff interaction was pleasant and there were no problems with anything. We did not eat at the restaurant, but did have a drink at the bar (nice, but a little pricey as most hotel bars are). The rooftop bar/lounge was not yet open for the season. It appears to have a “firm” April 1st opening date and can’t say I blame them; but it would be nice if there was more flexibility on this. It was definitely warm enough when we were there (mid-March), but I can understand why they have this in place as many years it wouldn’t be.

I suppose if I were to look for “bad” things to point out – and they weren’t really problems for us, but might be for others – one was that our room only had a shower, no tub. Also, the shower head is a “rainfall” style. (I prefer a higher pressure showerhead.) Also, even though our room had been cleaned before we checked it; a staff person came by to restock the in-room snack selection after we had moved into the room (but was very courteous about it). Lastly, while the bed & bedding were top notch, the bed was softer than I like.

I hope everyone can understand that I’m nit-picking here about all these “negative” things; partly to show just how minor our “complaints” were.

Regarding the parking situation, here’s a tip. Their is a free parking lot behind the hotel, but a significant portion of it is taken up by the hotel's valet parking (maybe half or more?). The non-valet portion was full or nearly full for much of the time we were there. Here’s the tip: if you can, time your arrival and car usage, you may be able to avoid valet parking. We arrived early to mid-afternoon and had no problem finding a space. Left the car there the whole rest of the day/night (walked to eat & the show). The next day we drove and simply made sure we were back in the mid-afternoon and didn’t have a problem getting another spot. Now obviously this worked well for us because our main reason for being in town were the shows at The Pageant and might not work for others, but if you can arrange your days properly, you might be able to duplicate our success. All this said, we knew we had the the valet parking as a backup plan (and that was nice).

Well, that’s pretty much it other than to say we will certainly consider using this hotel anytime we come to Saint Louis; especially if our trip has any focus on things in the Delmar Loop area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huntlawoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We appreciate all of your feedback. Please let us know how we may assist you on your next trip to Saint Louis!

Safe Travels,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful never rushing and taking time to assist with any questions. The rooms were attractive and fun . Location was convenient to Wash U. All in all, a good experience/

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkgca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your comments about our staff. If you are traveling again for Washington University, please visit us!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlywaytofly
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everything was great at the Moonrise Hotel. We did not rent a car, but access from the airport on the metro was very convenient. Delmar Loop had quite a cast of characters out for a stroll on Saturday afternoon, but the crown felt interesting, not scary. The room was nicely decorated, and the bed was without a doubt the most comfortable hotel bed in which I I have ever slept. We went downtown several times, by Metro, and it was easy and safe. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thank you, Moonrise!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlywaytofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrisegm, General Manager at Moonrise Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. Please come see us again!

- Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
The Cheshire
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#17 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonrise Hotel

Property: Moonrise Hotel
Address: 6177 Delmar Blvd, Saint Louis, MO 63112-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,686 - ₹ 21,440
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonrise Hotel in St. Louis, Missouri blends cool modern design and quirky sophistication to create a truly unique boutique hotel experience. Located in The Loop - one of St. Louis’ most charming shopping, dining and entertainment districts - the hotel offers guests a wide array of leisure activities. Within walking distance from The Pageant nightclub, Pin-Up Bowl and St. Louis landmark Blueberry Hill restaurant and music club, you’ll find it all. Our central location and proximity to the Delmar Loop MetroLink Station make it simple for business travelers and leisure guests to get to nearby Clayton, Forest Park, Washington University, and St. Louis University, as well as The Central West End and downtown St. Louis.A bold combination of contemporary design, luxury amenities, well-appointed rooms and suites and ample meeting space, the Moonrise Hotel boldly goes where no St. Louis hotel has gone before. From the ever-changing colors of the iridescent lobby wall and open staircase to the evocative art, display cases of lunar toys, jewelry, figurines and spaceships at Eclipse Restaurant, there’s much to marvel at without ever leaving the hotel.The result: an unforgettable experience that combines Midwestern hospitality with urban chic and luxury boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Moonrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonrise Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing