We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way cool”

Saint Louis Science Center
Ranked #28 of 225 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With the mission "to ignite and sustain lifelong science and technology learning", the Saint Louis Science Center is one of the top five science centers in the United States, and has been named one of the Top 10 Science Centers for Families by Parents Magazine and one of America's most visited museums by Forbes Traveler Magazine. The complex includes over 96,000 sq-ft of interactive science-technology exhibits that are part of the Science Center's free general admission. The most recent major permanent exhibit is GROW, a one-acre outdoor exhibit that will take visitors on a journey of food, to gain a deeper understanding of our food supply. The Science Center's ticketed areas include the OMNIMAX, a four-story IMAX Dome theater; the James S. McDonnell Planetarium, one of the world's largest planetariums; and the Discovery Room, an activity area for families with younger children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are both 40 and this place was Cool!! You usually think that these place are for kids but I guess we are big kids... lol. There is a lot of cool hands on things to keep your mind going. Some exhibits took us back to childhood memories. All around cool day!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Douglas60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"omnimax theater"
in 47 reviews
"discovery room"
in 39 reviews
"all ages"
in 143 reviews
"the king tut exhibit"
in 28 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 60 reviews
"t rex"
in 25 reviews
"omni max"
in 23 reviews
"dinosaur exhibit"
in 20 reviews
"flight simulator"
in 14 reviews
"great hands"
in 14 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 25 reviews
"free admission"
in 59 reviews
"build a bear"
in 20 reviews
"great for kids"
in 30 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 19 reviews
"few hours"
in 40 reviews
"whole family"
in 37 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

The t-rex and triceratops exhibit was my highlight -- enjoyed seeing how big these animals actually were. Went to both the Omnimax theater and the planetarium. The shows were good and the price very reasonable compared to many other planetariums and Omnimax theaters. The admission to the Science Center is free, but parking is $10, so it is better to go as a big group in one car.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Theodore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

The planetarium was great!! Very relaxing and informative, wish we would have made it there earlier. Go to have the day, it would be easy to get lost in space.... not to mention the many other exhibits, interactive and very engaging activities. I took my 22 year old son and a good friend, great for all ages!!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank V4497IElisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

For some reason, many family-friendly attractions in St. Louis seem to be closed on Mondays. We'd attended a concert in St. Louis and the granddaughters wanted to do something more before we left town. We chose to visit the Science Center and didn't regret it for a moment. One of my granddaughters is a dinosaur fanatic and the giant T-Rex and slain Triceratops on the lower level were the first thing she spotted. Over the few hours we spent at the Center, they learned about architecture, energy, space, dinosaurs, gaming, and countless other things. The learning is all done under the guise of fun and they loved it! We ate lunch at one of the small cafes right inside the entrance and had hot dogs and a veggie quesadilla, all of which were decent. Another member of our party had a slice of pizza, which was also decent. Not the greatest we've ever had but it filled us up and we weren't there for the food anyway! Parking was $10 and the cost to visit the Center was free. At the cafe, I received a retired military discount which was most appreciated. Definitely looking forward to a return visit!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Teala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We only had about an hour here as we arrived late in the day bit it was amazing...so many hands on exhibits and my kids are 11 and 13...much more for littler ones too, bit gear for tween too. Free except for $10 parking. Highly recommend!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 976becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing