We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good half day entertainment ”

Saint Louis Science Center
Ranked #30 of 224 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With the mission "to ignite and sustain lifelong science and technology learning", the Saint Louis Science Center is one of the top five science centers in the United States, and has been named one of the Top 10 Science Centers for Families by Parents Magazine and one of America's most visited museums by Forbes Traveler Magazine. The complex includes over 96,000 sq-ft of interactive science-technology exhibits that are part of the Science Center's free general admission. The most recent major permanent exhibit is GROW, a one-acre outdoor exhibit that will take visitors on a journey of food, to gain a deeper understanding of our food supply. The Science Center's ticketed areas include the OMNIMAX, a four-story IMAX Dome theater; the James S. McDonnell Planetarium, one of the world's largest planetariums; and the Discovery Room, an activity area for families with younger children.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Regular admittance is free, which is great. Parking was $10. We didn't enter the discovery area that was $4/person and you have to get tickets and it was busy enough the next couple of hours were sold out.

Kids loved the dinosaur/digging area, the radar detectors on the bridge and the science lab probably the most. We went to one of the shows but were towards the back so you can't see and was hard to hear so we weren't impressed. So many typical science-center like activities.

I would happily visit again if I had the opportunity - whole family enjoyed. That said, I would pick the City Museum or Magic House over this if I had to choose because those places are so awesome and more unique to what I've seen before. I suggest spending a few days and seeing them all!

Thank Dealmom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Saint Louis Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dealmom83-

Thanks for choosing to visit us along with a couple of our sister institutions during your stay in St. Louis. We're glad you enjoyed some of our more play-based activities for your 4 & 7 year-olds, but regret that holiday crowds seem to have kept you from seeing everything we have to offer. We hope you can return to see it all.

-John Wharton, Managing Director of Facility Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"omnimax theater"
in 46 reviews
"discovery room"
in 39 reviews
"all ages"
in 139 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 60 reviews
"the king tut exhibit"
in 24 reviews
"omni max"
in 22 reviews
"t rex"
in 21 reviews
"dinosaur exhibit"
in 19 reviews
"flight simulator"
in 14 reviews
"great hands"
in 14 reviews
"free admission"
in 58 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 24 reviews
"build a bear"
in 20 reviews
"great for kids"
in 28 reviews
"few hours"
in 39 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 18 reviews
"forest park"
in 62 reviews
Filter

354 - 358 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

This is a great stop for a half day or just a couple of hours. Very hands on learning. It's free with only $10 parking. Great for toddlers through elementary / middle school age.

Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Saint Louis Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Cheryl J-

Thanks for visiting us - we're pleased you found us a good family destination.

-John Wharton, Managing Director of Facility Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our family enjoyed our visit to the Science Center. Because of time, we only visited the free exhibits. There are opportunities for kids of all ages. No question we had fun and enjoyed the wide range of family orientated activities. Parking is free if you park by the planetarium and walk across the highway. You can spend as much time at the Science Center as you would like.

Thank HHSRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Saint Louis Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

HHSRick-

Thanks for spending time with us over the holidays. We're glad everyone had such a good time.

-John Wharton, Managing Director of Facility Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This is a hands on museum that is good for the entire family....from Toddlers through Adults. Admission is free and the atmosphere is fun. The staff is friendly and helpful with special requests. There are 3 floors full of activities for active participation. There are private rooms for special events and classes. Whether you dig for dinosaur bones, make volcanos, or learn about the the right kind of roof to survive high winds there is much for all to enjoy.
We have gone to it several times when we visit St. Louis and it never gets old.

Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Saint Louis Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Margie L-

We're glad to hear you found so much to do across generations, and we appreciate your kind words about our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

-John Wharton, Managing Director of Facility Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Go for the membership!! You will want to spend more than 1 day here! I purchased a membership to the Science Center for enrichment purposes for my 11 year old, hoping that he would regain his curiosity about the world in which he lives. I was not disappointed! The money we saved nearly paid for our membership in just ONE DAY! The first day, we spent nearly an entire day in the Planetarium. I was met with resistance, but by the end of the day he was very thankful! The next day was all hands on learning activities! He LOVED it so much, we are planning on making a once a month trip to St Louis! I worked for MAD science, so I did not know if this would be too repetitive and boring for him, but for him it was not - it was new and exciting!!

Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Saint Louis Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Barbara J-

We're so pleased that you and your son had such a good time in your two days with us, and that you made such good use of your new membership. And don't forget that we have a reciprocal arrangement with many other science centers and science museums in North America that allows you membership benefits at those places as well! We look forward to having you visit again and again.

-John Wharton, Managing Director of Facility Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Science Center also viewed

Town and Country, Saint Louis
 

Been to Saint Louis Science Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing