We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhineland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Lavandes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Rhineland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The owners, Richard and Marta are wonderful, caring hosts - they attend to every need you might have. The cuisine is fantastic - homemade breads, jellies. The setting is peaceful, out in the country, very close to the Katy Trail. The rooms are charming and clean. We loved sitting in the jacuzzi by the lavender garden, watching the sun set. It is a blessing to stay there. We definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Les Lavandes is the CUTEST little bed and breakfast I have ever been to. My husband Eric and I were given two nightss here for our pre honeymoon. Neither of us had ever been to Herman before but we were both really excited!

When we arrived, Myrta and Richard were ever so polite and welcoming. They asked when we wanted breakfast in the morning and then showed us to the French Room. It was BEAUTIFUL! It's a quaint lavender room, with a very comfortable bed, a Jacuzzi tub, and even a functioning electric fire place. There is a deck attached that looks out over onto the gorgeous countryside. They have their own grape vines and many lavender plants which makes the property beautiful.
We used the hot tub the first night and it was VERY clean and the stars were awesome. Myrta and Richard were able to give recommendations for dinner and lunch while we were there and they never steered us wrong!

Now, the food. Oh the food. It was some of the best breakfast that I have eaten. The first morning we had homemade eggs Benedict with homemade Swedish hash browns. We were also served fresh coffee, homemade bread, THREE homemade jams, fresh fruit, and fresh juice. There were fresh flowers on the tables and even presented on some of the dishes. The attention to detail was quite wonderful.

The second morning, we had crispy, thick bacon and french croissant (similar to french toast, but made with a flaky crossiant) They also provided pure blueberry syrup which was heavenly. We also got another Swedish dish to try. It contained raw oatmeal, yogurt, and about ten different fresh fruit all mixed together. It was delightful. We left neither breakfast hungry!

Les Lavandes was wonderful. We are planning on surprising Eric's parents with a trip for Christmas and we hope to return for hopefully our first anniversary. Myrta and Richard are a job. We spent both breakfasts talking like old friends. We sincerely recommend this B&B!!!

Love, Eric and Jenny

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennnyDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is the 3rd time staying at Les Lavandes and I have never been disappointed! The cottage is decorated beautifully and the bed was very comfortable. It even has a fireplace and jacuzzi tub in it! The hot tub was the place to be for star gazing! What a beautiful place to stay with all the rolling meadows in the distance!! The food is amazing to say the least! Everything is made from scratch and you can definately taste the difference! Afternoon tea with chocolate covered strawberries, truffles and lavendar cookies are to die for! Richard makes his eggs benedict and egg souffle along with all the sides that go with those.....and they are the best we've ever had!! Can't wait to come back again and again! Thanks for everything! Debbie

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJDonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I just got home a half hour ago. I didn't want to wait to let anyone and everyone know what a wonderful "getaway" we had at Les Lavandes and with Richard and Myrta who run it. As lovely as the B&B is, the two of them make it that much moreso with their friendliness and warmth. Les Lavandes is the perfect place for a visit to Hermann, Missouri, and it is a very nice destination in its own right. What a great place to relax and enjoy life and people and each other. We will certainly be back, and hopefully with some friends. Thank you for providing us with a great time.

Sincerely,
Jim and Sandy Leibrecht

Room Tip: Two of the rooms are separate from the main building; the third is part of the main house. The Swis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Spend a weekend with Richard and Myrta and i promise you that you will never have a better experience. the food was beyond amazing. i honestly cannot express in words how amazing the food was. we had our own special dinner made and served to us, in addition to the breakfast. all meals were beyond anything i could have imagined. the property is perfectly located just far enough away from hermann. you can have total isolation when you want it and make a quick trip into town to grab a few bottles to enjoy in the hot tub. the hosts are wonderful people who truly make you feel like family. they are great conversationists and are extremely knowledgable of the area. i will not stay anywhere else in herman going forward. this is a the perfect getaway for anyone with a respect for savory food and an appreciation for quiet countryside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Lavandes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Lavandes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 215 Highway P, Starkenburg, Rhineland, MO 65069-2708
Region: United States > Missouri > Rhineland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rhineland
Price Range: ₹ 6,782 - ₹ 9,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European B&B, tucked away in gorgeous wine country with beautiful vistas. Splendid garden, hot tub, private decks, some rooms with fireplace, whirlpool tub. Complimentary High Tea with all homemade chocolate truffles, lavender icecream and pastries, 3 course gourmet breakfast, 4course candle dinners upon request. Only 10 minutes away from Hermann area attractions and wineries, next to church and Shrine of Starkenburg. Katy Trail closeby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing