We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
106
24
3
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
24
3
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach house great family atmosphere new owners playground area family reunion enjoying the view beautiful condo a great vacation boat dock rooms are spacious state park get away queen bed two nights nice pool easy access off season
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We recently stayed in Unit 9 which is in one of the oldest buildings. It has been renovated by the new owners who purchased it this spring. There is a patio out front and it is right along the lake. We were near the pool area & had easy access to the parking area. There is nothing fancy about it; which is part of its charm! It was relaxing & we felt safe the entire time. The owner allowed us to borrow the paddle boat which we enjoyed using in the cove. We did not have children, but saw them enjoying the playground and swimming in the small beach area (I would suggest water shoes as there is fishing). The resort was located within 5-10 minutes of most things we wanted to do! The only small issue is how bright the room was at night due to outside lighting.

Room Tip: Our view was partially blocked by boat docks; might go higher for better view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yodfam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I just spent a weekend at Kapilana Resort & although I've stayed at several places in this area over the years, Kapilana is my new favorite spot. I love the location. My room - a poolside suite with 2 bedrooms & a kitchen - was spacious & clean. The pool & patio were immaculate & the lake area was ideal for swimming or laying out on the dock or the giant lily pad. Above all I love the atmosphere at this resort. It was friendly & relaxing & the owners were hospitable from the moment we arrived on friday until we checked out on Sunday. They are clearly passionate about their new business & go the extra mile to make guests feel at home at every opportunity. Already planning a trip to this resort with my family next month.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RMP2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We just returned from a short weekend visit. A nice view of the lake with many water activities available.

The new owners are fantastic and seem very willing to go the extra mile to ensure guests are satisfied. We didn't have any specific issues but did have a lot of questions since it was our first time visiting the area.

I'm sure we'll back to the area and would have this place at the top of our list for places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights. Very nice, very happy with our stay. We were able to get room on short notice. Nice pool and great swimming area. Clean and comfortable. Great place to stay if you want to be lake front, views are great. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakedaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stumbled onto Kapilana Resort by accident and decided on a whim to book a room. Not really knowing what to expect we quickly read some reviews here on trip advisor, and decided, why not? We stayed in the "beach house", which we later learned had the oldest (but probably the most charming) rooms at the resort. The beach house was built in 1946, and sits right at the water's edge, while the newer more modern condo-type rooms do not. There is a well-maintained pool and a lake edge swimming beach, boat slips if you have a boat. Kapilana Resort is located near the Grand Glaize Bridge and is close to a lot of attractions. Brian and his wife are the relatively new owners who are great people, they work hard to make Kapilana a great place to stay, and make you feel like family. We liked that our room had a kitchenette, therefore we could prepare most of our meals and save money on dining out. Reviews, stated that the "beach house" was the place to stay, and we're glad we did.

Room Tip: Beach house is right at the water's edge and has retro charm. The modern condos are not at the water's edge but do have views of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie-JorgeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews