We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but doesnt hide the fact that its an old motel and there was bed bugs!”
Review of Munger Moss Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Munger Moss Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Unique but doesnt hide the fact that its an old motel and there was bed bugs!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

It does take you back in time and thats what we were after on our Route 66 road trip. The themed room was fun and the memorabilia was interesting to look at. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly too.

Unfortunately our stay was ruined by bed bugs which we only discovered when we were about to goto sleep. But I must give credit to the owner who even though we woke her up was still very apologetic and polite about it.

It really is a shame because I would have liked to give a very good rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    71
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
115
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Time travel is possible, just spend a night as the guest of Bob and Ramona at the Munger Moss Motel. Clean, simple, quiet, and vintage neon are the frosting on the cake for a restfull evening after a long day on the road. One hundred percent time capsule with just a thin veneer of modern makes the Munger Moss an ideal place to rest a weary head.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here on my route 66 adventure, from England. I had done a fair bit of research on accommodation along the route and the history of these accommodations. I saw that The Munger Moss is THE place to stay in the area. When I booked the hotel, speaking to the wonderful owner, Ramona, I knew I had found a real Route 66 gem!

The motel is wonderful! I had the route 66 room, decked out from wall to wall with wonderful old and newer photos of everything to do with Route 66 - and the decor was in keeping with when Route 66 had its heyday. Felt like I was travelling back in time - but in a GREAT way!

Ramona is wonderful and had a couple of long chats with her recounting her experience running the motel with her hubby and the guests she has had (very positive) and history of Route 66.

That sign - wow - its fully renovated and the sign alone is a great reason to stay.

It was the true route 66 experience - absolutely nothing like a boring chain motel. I managed to not stay in any chain motels and staying in these places like The Munger Moss really made my vacation. This place had VIBE! and CLASS!

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Go on,,,,, book a room, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: The Route 66 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Room was disappointingly dirty. An oily dusty film covered all surfaces, even the night table.. No soap in tiny bathroom, which also smelled bad. Obviously our room had not been maintained in a long time. We were a little creeped out, but it was late, so we stayed. At 630am, a roofing crew began repairs right above our room. Owner's unsympathetic response to complaint was, "They have to work sometime! We've been trying to fix this roof for four months." Hotel could have decided not to rent rooms below where they knew work was being done....but they really did not care. I thought it was odd when they had insisted on payment when we checked in (which suggests the hotel is used by a lot of transients or hookers) but now I understand why - they knew we would not want to pay after staying the night. The neon sign was terrific artifact of older times - look at the sign, but stay down the road..

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be pleasanter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarsdaleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here on Sept. 27, 2011 while on our annual Route 66 trip. We have traveled all of the route and many sections numerous times. We always try to stay in the original motels and eat in the mom and pop restaurants. The Munger Moss was a perfect example of one of the original motels that has been extremely well preserved. We stayed in Room 66 and found the accomadations very nice. We especially loved the bathroom with the turquoise/blue tiled walls, coral/pink sink, tub and fixtures and coral mosaic tile a beautiful example of yesteryear. It was also amazingly clean and well kept. I wish it would have been a little warmer as I would have loved to have tried out the pool. We didn't get to meet the owners but they need to be commended for their love and dedication to preserving this beautiful motel. P.S. Also loved the newly restored neon sign!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
4.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 11 in Lebanon
42 reviews
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 11 in Lebanon
100 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 11 in Lebanon
261 reviews
38.0 km away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
4.6 km away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#3 of 11 in Lebanon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munger Moss Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munger Moss Motel

Property: Munger Moss Motel
Address: Lebanon, MO
Region: United States > Missouri > Lebanon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Munger Moss Hotel Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing