We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice botique hotel, small rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #43 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice botique hotel, small rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I spent 2 nights in the Holiday Inn Aladdin hotel in downtown Kansas City, Mo. This was one of the friendliest hotels I have been in. Everybody smiled and greeted you where ever they saw you.
The spent megabucks remodeling and upgrading all of the rooms. They only problem is when you take an old hotel and update it you can't change the size of the rooms.

Room Tip: Excellent location if you are going to be at Bartel Hall or the convention center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
3. Thank you very much for the comments on your recent stay at the Aladdin. It's great to know we are delivering "amazing service" to our guests. Our staff takes great pride in the service they deliver and always strives to make our guest feel welcomed and comfortable.

Please know you are welcome here at the Aladdin!

Shara Smith-Williams
Aladdin GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    200
    112
    46
    33
See reviews for
60
183
45
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Historic boutique hotel. Beautiful old building. Rooms are tiny but nice. Stay much time there and you realize you can hear (and I mean HEAR) everything that your neighbors are saying and doing. Tempurature in the room was either very cold or very hot. The television wouldn't stay off once turned off. My husband and I got a kick out of that. Guest services were very accommodating except I did see a bell hop try to bum a cigarette off of a passer by which I thought was kind of a tacky thing to do since he was in uniform. Within walking distance to Power and Light and good restaurants and bars. Minimal items such as sodas, etc., in lobby. Beds were small but acceptable. Shower pressure was very low. Just ok for my purposes but really, wouldn't mind staying here again for the great location and overall historic significance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okzrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you know we are a Nationally Registered Historic building and as such we have the bones of a 1925 hotel. We are also just as proud of the multi-million dollar renovation that we went through in order to reopen our doors. All that being said we apologize for the interruption in your stay. I have personally communicated to our entire Valet team the importance of being aware of the manner in which they speak to everyone at the hotel, even when you are speaking to a person who also works for the hotel but is out of uniform. As a team we all truly believe that the Guests Come First and strive to make ensure everyone who stays with us has a satisfactory experience.

If you still have concerns please give me a call directly. I would love to get the chance to talk to you. Have a wonderful day.

Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Aladdin is an historic art deco structure that was renovated in 2007. First impression is that it's nicely done and pleasantly hip for a Holiday Inn. But spend a little time in the room and you notice its shortcomings. For example, an old and incredibly loud a/c system, wallpaper that's peeling in spots and inconsistent water pressure. The hotel is understaffed, too, as front desk employees were also doing the valet parking. When there was a rush of people needing their cars, I even saw the manager ask one of the janitors to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurorahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a great place to stay to attend a convention at the convention center (directly across the street!!!) Close to the Power & Light district for night life, and a GREAT grocery store that provided Everything you could ever want! As for the hotel itself, the Staff was WONDERFUL, the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable!!! We had an amazing time, and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a king size bed and the decor was FUN!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always pleased to receive guests comments about our hotel. As you stated we are within walking distance to the Power & Light District, and are always happy to be a part of the events that occur in the downtown every throughout the year. We at the Aladdin look forward to having the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Kansas City.

Have a wonderful week,

Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Aladdin is in a great location, walking distance from the Power & Light District. It's also only a couple of blocks from a ridiculously good grocery store (all kinds salads, sandwiches, coffees, bakery items, etc) where we grabbed breakfast and snacks.

The hotel has a good little bar upstairs to open.. or close.. the night! Rooms are very small but well-appointed and decorated in a very art-deco decor. We had a terrible view (odd numbered rooms) but didn't care much since we weren't in our room much.

There's a parking garage across the street where you can park your car (for about $12/day) if you wind up walking everywhere. Otherwise, you can valet at the hotel for $16/day with unlimited in and out privileges. It is not included in the price of your room.

Bonuses: Free WiFi in your room and free champagne in the lobby until 10 p.m.!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms seem to have a really bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsformaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review!! We are so happy that your were able to enjoy your stay with us. We work hard to make sure that each guests has a memorable and enjoyable experience when traveling to our great city. We look forward to getting the chance to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#19 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.5 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,344 - ₹ 22,106
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing