We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Hotwire scam” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Aladdin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware Hotwire scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The 3.5 star downtown hotel being sold on Hotwire is this one. This is in no way a 3.5 star hotel and Hotwire is scamming people. The hotel feels like a rundown motel 6, does not I repeat not offer parking (you have to fight for a spot on your own in a nearby publIc parking lot), there is no security, and bums rummage through room service leftovers in the hallways (this is no joke). The rooms are tiny and kind of dirty for a hotel rated 3.5 stars. This is about a 1.5 - 2.0 star hotel in a decent location close to the P@L district.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was unfortunate that you appear to have had a stay that was not to your liking. I want to alleviate any concerns that you, or anyone reading this review, may have about about our stance on safety and cleanliness.
First we do indeed have security on-sight at night, as well as a Manager on duty 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Between the two positions each floor of the hotel is checked every hour and this record is kept on sight.
Secondly we are a nationally registered historic building that went through a multi-milliion dollar renovation before opening in it's current re-incarnation as the HI Aladdin. As seen in some of our other reviews our hotel has kept the charm of the original structures, like our marble lobby floors, while being able to create a modern, art deco style in our rooms. Since our hotel is an original, historic building our rooms are admittedly quaint, however our team takes pride in keeping up a clean and modern environment.
And last, as with ALL hotels in the downtown KC market we do charge for Valet parking, we are happy to say that our valet cost is less than any of our competitors right now. If Valet parking does not work for a guests we also give information concerning the cost of the closest public parking garage, which is right across the street from our hotel.
We want to again thank you for the review, we take all information to heart and use it to improve our services. I would love to have the opportunity to get a better understanding of what happened with your experience. Please contact me at the number provided below. Have a good day

Shara Smith-Williams
816-421-8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    192
    110
    43
    32
See reviews for
57
175
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Can't beat this location especially for the price! Hotel has nice entryway, offered a glass of champagne at check in. Rooms are small but nicely appointed. Bathroom is small but clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are always happy to get the opportunity to be a part of our guests trip to Kansas City. As a nationally registered hotel we are proud of the care our team has taken to make our quaint boutique home away from home for our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairland, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
245 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I would rate this hotel a little higher if the caulking in the bathtub had been maintained. Besides the noise from the Drake crowd coming home the hotel was well above average. Beginning with Rachel at the front desk who was very professional and helpful this stay was great and the location was perfect for walking the P&L district. The rooms were older and smaller but kept to a good standard. My suggestion would be to have the maintenance department fix the caulking in the tub of rm 308 and I would rate this stay at a 4 star rather than a three. Great job Rachel! Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have passed your wonderful comments on to Rachel and her peers, who want to express their appreciation to all of our wonderful guests. I have also taken the time to speak with the Engineering director about your concerns in the bathroom and they have taken care of this situation. We appreciate all feedback and cannot wait to get the chance to wow you on your next stay in Kansas City. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I am a KC local and stayed here in January for my husband's birthday to enjoy the P&L district. The hotel was very nice and clean. It is in a historical building so I believe the structure is original. But the rooms are remodeled with a modern design, everything appears brand new. Our stay was great. I can't really comment on the value since I received a corporate rate through my company, which included valet parking. I am not sure how the parking works if you don't do valet. We plan to book the hotel again in March for a concert at the Sprint Center.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaceyJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel was in a great location to the Power and Light District. My wife and I stayed here for the closeness to the Sprint Center. The rooms were clean and well kept although this is an older hotel so the rooms were a little small. There is a restaurant associated with the hotel but they do not offer a free continental breakfast. I consider this hotel a good value hotel. If you are looking a good hotel in a nice location and don't need all of the "extras" then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to help us gain a better understanding of our guests' experience. Being so centrally located to the Power & Light District, as well as the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Municipal Auditorium, and the Sprint Center, affords us the opportunity to be a part of Kansas City's exciting and growing downtown district. Please keep us in mind the next time you have an event in Kansas City.

Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#42 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#22 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.7 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,059 - ₹ 16,006
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing