We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I am a KC local and stayed here in January for my husband's birthday to enjoy the P&L district. The hotel was very nice and clean. It is in a historical building so I believe the structure is original. But the rooms are remodeled with a modern design, everything appears brand new. Our stay was great. I can't really comment on the value since I received a corporate rate through my company, which included valet parking. I am not sure how the parking works if you don't do valet. We plan to book the hotel again in March for a concert at the Sprint Center.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaceyJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel was in a great location to the Power and Light District. My wife and I stayed here for the closeness to the Sprint Center. The rooms were clean and well kept although this is an older hotel so the rooms were a little small. There is a restaurant associated with the hotel but they do not offer a free continental breakfast. I consider this hotel a good value hotel. If you are looking a good hotel in a nice location and don't need all of the "extras" then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to help us gain a better understanding of our guests' experience. Being so centrally located to the Power & Light District, as well as the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Municipal Auditorium, and the Sprint Center, affords us the opportunity to be a part of Kansas City's exciting and growing downtown district. Please keep us in mind the next time you have an event in Kansas City.

Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I would say elegant style ! Boutique interior,magic maker receptionist ! but here it comes an issue,I stayed here in December 2011 for my buisness meeting ...It was cold and sook semeed like thermostat took forever to change ...upon repeated requests the technician showed up and eneded up explaining how to use thermostat !!!! seriously they need to change the scale of understanding that we are asking to fix NOT how to use !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houstontravelmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always happy to get the chance to hear about the experience our valued guests have had while staying with us. We are so proud of our 1920's boutique hotel, that happens to be a Nationally Registered Historic building, but we do know that a part of being an older property is that there are some things that just work a bit slower. The next time you are in town, please contact us before check-in and we would be happy to preset your room to a temperature that works for you. Our team is always happy to go above and beyond to make each guests experience a wonderful one.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Shara Smith-Williams
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Everything about my stay at Holiday Inn Aladdin was exceptional! From them moment I pulled up, I knew this was going to be a wonderful experience. Valet service was the same price as self parking which made parking extremely convenient. For the moment I entered the lobby, they offered me a complimentary glass of champagne to sip on while they reviewed all of the services the hotel had to offer. The hotel lobby is updated but it still has it authentic charm. Check in was quick and simple. Another key aspect of this charming hotel are the rooms. Furniture is modern and comfortable. Everthing in room has been updated. The toiletries are from bath and body works! Check out was also flawless with exceptional service. Hotel is in walking distance to Sprint Center and Power and Light. I am amazed that priceline has this hotel listed as a 3 star. This hotel is 4 star quality at a 3 star price. I have stayed at many of the downtown KCMO hotels and Holiday Inn Aladdin is by far the best!

Room Tip: The beds are vey comfortable, but if you are allergic to feathers, call in advance to have them remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

What a wonderful compliment! Thank you for your kind words and for the opportunity to serve you while in Kansas City. We work hard to make each guests stay as wonderful as yours and we are very pleased all of our hard work accomplished that goal. Please remember us on your next trip to Kansas City.

Kindest Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel seems to have been renovated recently but the building still shows its age, the carpet and beds especially just seem a little ratty. I didn't make a huge deal about these things to management since I was getting an event discount. But with no breakfast or parking included and wifi that doesn't work this hotel is certainly not worth it normal rate and barely worth what i paid.

But that's not all. When I checked in I inspected the room and found that the linens had hair in a number of spots on both sheets and pillows and were rumpled... clearly not changed... mind you i didn't arrive until nearly midnight, so they had plenty of time to prep. I called to ask for new linens and a guy showed up and practically threw them at me. The new linens were dirtier than the old ones. I eventually flipped them and covered with some towels which at least seemed to have been washed. Now the service staff were fairly friendly, but they didn't provide actual service and either the maids or the laundry service should be fired... it was disgusting! These are problems I expect at a Motel in the middle of nowhere with no reservation, not at a Holiday Inn. It's a serious mark on the name.

Room Tip: check the linens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EVMusicMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgangle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for your review. I know you have so many choices of hotels and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Aladdin Hotel and Spa. I take the guests experience very seriously and sincerely apologize that your stay in our hotel was not what you, nor I, expected. I have passed this review along to the Executive Housekeeper who will be investigating this matter thoroughly. I would appreciate any time you had to discuss this matter with me personally. Please feel free to contact me at (816) 421-8888. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Shara Smith-Williams
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 km away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
1,158 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,131 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 10,380 - ₹ 20,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing