We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #96 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The worst place I have ever seen posted at the major travel sites. We had to book it because prices went through the roof on the car races weekend. You would expect hotels.com, Expedia.com and Orbitz.com do some pre-selection before listing hotels. Obviously they have failed as giving even one star rating to this place is offensive to many inexpensive, but clean hotels with one star. It is located in the bad part of town, even manager did not recommend us to stay anywhere within a few miles after we wrestled our money back by complaining to Orbitz. Very strange personalities have been circulating around the lobby and at the street while we had our case worked out. The room was quoted to us as non-smoking, but the smell was overbearing. According to the manager, repainting walls was the legitimate cause to change the room classification to non-smoking. There is no way we are coming back.

Room Tip: Stay away from that place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VadimFromArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

I had little expectations coming to this motel because of all the negative reviews I read about it. We showed up and stayed two nights there and it was a pleasant experience. They did mention they are remodeling the lot and that they are doing things to make it better. They do rent to people on a weekly/monthly basis, which could be why some of the comments may be a bit negative. The beds were a bit uncomfortable, but we expected that since we're used to our bed. There was no bugs present as other reviewers mentioned. It's off a major highway and for the price, it was pretty good since it's literally minutes away from the Zoo, the Plaza, and the Kansas State Line.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

When we checked in the lady was very nice and welcoming. She told us of places we should go while we were there. With out her our trip could have been very boring. However they have a nice pool so I think it would with out even if we weren't out on the town. Even though we are just passing thru the town, we will stay here next time we come :)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingthestates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Room was disgusting in every measurable category. Location is in the KC slums with a check into cash store & a liquor store across the street. Nearby convenience store worker said area was not safe and pointed to this hotel. This hotel is filled with many people who live in it for long periods. Lots of hoodlums moving around, standing outside rooms with shirts off, .......broken and beat up cars in parking lot. Staying at a rest area in your car would be better

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcmogm, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We apologize regarding your visit at our property. We are located in a quite surburban location near a major interstate. The shopping area near the Hotel accommodates many business like Grocery Stores, Sam's club and many restaurants including PayDay Loan store mentioned in this review. Your comments have been noted and welcome your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is the worst hotel in hotel history. When we came to check in, the lady at the front desk told us we had to go look at the rooms to make sure they were ok before she would give us the keys. We had no choice to stay at this hotel, we literally called every hotel in the city and due to a conference that was going on, all the other hotels were all booked, except this one. So, we had to go ahead and check in.
The room was gross. It had roaches crawling all over the room and shower area. The ceiling was dripping over our beds a substance that smelled like pee. the fire alarm would not stop going off, we had to disconnect the alarm ourselves to make it stop beeping loudly. The beds were hard and very uncomfortable. Etc, etc, etc...
I've stayed in hotels all over the world...and this is hands down the worst hotel ever. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcmogm, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Sorry you had a bad experience. We strive to maintain our property. We are upgrading our rooms to include new mattresses. Please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.7 km away
Best Host Inn Plaza Kansas City South
29.3 km away
Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun
44.9 km away
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.8 km away
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
#47 of 110 in Kansas City
289 reviews
42.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Tiffany Springs
6.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 11801 Blue Ridge Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64134-3720
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 3,897 - ₹ 4,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story exterior corridor. Seasonal outdoor pool. No pets. FREE parking for cars/trucks/buses. FREE guest breakfast and wi-fi. Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants and lounges nearby. Short drive to Kansas City. Meeting facility. I-435, US 71 exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing