We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice rooms, pleasant service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, pleasant service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We loved our spacious king bed room with kitchenette. It was had a pull-out sofa and it was perfect for our family of 4 (kids didn't mind the sofa sleeper). Our room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The pool was smallish and needed to be cleaned. Breakfast was ok with a pancake machine (kids loved that) but there weren't many healthy choices - no yogurt, no skim milk, only day old bananas for fruit, etc. That was a bit disappointing but it wouldn't keep me from returning again. Overall, a nice quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puglover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Your reviews are of utmost importance to us and we aim to provide nothing less but the best experience for all our guests as you all deserve to have high quality of services for giving us your business. I am sorry about the choices that we provide for breakfast. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    34
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
45
21
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staff was awesome! Room was big, though not as big as other Expresses I've stayed at (the only non-bed seating in our double queen was a desk chair...). Despite being next to the ice machine, we didn't hear it all night (that was a shocker because I know people were using it -- we could hear them going down the hall).

Downside: located on one side of a divided highway, so it was impossible to get to from one direction without doing a turnaround (not like the extra two minutes were that crucial, but still...). Nothing exciting is that close, the tub could have used some new enamel, and the toilet seat was one of those broken ones that slides to the side when you use it, but... for being the "worst" Express I've stayed in, it was still far beyond other hotels in the price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radioactive_piano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Radioactive_piano,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to navigate the roads and the room conditions.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Had a king - room was roomy, larger than expected. Area quiet and large parking lot. Breakfast room large with many tables and complimentary breakfast was, like wow. Eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, a variety of pastries (more than the usual few), etc. Only downer was orange colored water for orange juice. The cranberry and apple juices were fine. Location was fine for us as we were attending a family funeral that was only a few miles away. Be forewarned - if you are not familiar with KC-Raytown area, there is a Blue Ridge Parkway, Blue Ridge Cut-off and Blue Ridge Blvd. They are 3 separate streets and the GPS was as confused as we were as it said "location on your left" and it wasn't. The Blue Ridge we needed was maybe a mile away, but it was to our left.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRGmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time in giving us your wonderful review about our hotel. We appreciate your review and bringing to our attention the details we needed to make more improvements. We assure you that your comments are valuable to us as we use them as reference as we evaluate the areas in our Hotel that require further consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast. Great pool and hot tub. Only complaint is we were here on business trip and we have tools and we were told that it looks hideous and we should move it to the back. We thought it was very rude and for that I would not stay here again. Now I would like to say it was no one that works the front desk thay were amazing! It was some creppy man that was rude.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joheayhlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Your reviews are important to us and we definitely give utmost attention to our guests’ concerns. I sincerely apologize for not having to provide you the best customer service. We assure you that instances such as this are promptly evaluated and addressed accordingly. It is unfortunate indeed that we have not sufficed to your exacting standard; nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation requirement in the future as we shall ensure your comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

TIP: My Garmin was able to locate the property when I entered 8551 Blue Pky. No other spelling variation on that address worked. You’ll want help finding this place as it’s located on a curve in a hilly region.

Check-in was quick and friendly, and I was given room 305. That room is relatively spacious with two queen beds and a sitting area with a couch and two chairs. The off-brand flat-screen TV works OK. There is an unusual mattress cover underneath the sheets that bunched up with any sort of movement. Otherwise the room was tasteful and up-to-date. Overall OK, but not a standout when compared to other Express properties.

Unfortunately I observed what several others have already mentioned. The furnishings and decorations might be up-to-date, but the building craftsmanship is sloppy and detracts from the overall effect. Even though fairly new, rug seams are separating, tiles are cracked, caulk and paint are smeared on surfaces, noise seems to transmit way too much, the parking lot is chopped up and mostly sloping and the backyard is a mess. It’s disappointing to see things that shouldn’t be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zender33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We certainly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. Thank you very much for drawing your attention to these problems. Rest assured that we will look into this matter so we can address these issues right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
13.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#56 of 110 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
30.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
5.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
33.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
26.9 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 110 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Address: 8551 East Blue Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,507 - ₹ 13,922
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Kansas City, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex! We are conveniently located near the Kansas City Sports complex, home of the Chiefs and Royals. Chill out in downtown Kansas City just a short drive from our front door. With our world class service and many Kansas City restaurants and attractions just moments from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Kansas City! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms, 32 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests Attractions: Kauffman Stadium, home to the Kansas City Royals and Arrowhead Stadium, home to the Kansas City Chiefs. Businesses: GE Energy, Unilever Best Foods, Time Warner, Bayer Corporation, Ford Motor Company, & Cerner Corporation. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Kansas City Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City Sports Complex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing