We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor excuse for a Marriott property - feels more like a Motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I stayed at this property while passing through Kansas City. I'm a regular Marriott customer so I've come to expect the quality, customer service and amenities that Marriott stands for. This property has none of those qualities. It felt more like a low-budget motel than a Marriott. The hotel is old, the rooms smell musty, the A/C didn't work in my room and the furnishing are very dated. To top it off, the valet smoked in my car, which explains why they brought it back to me with all the windows down. I shared my concerns with the hotel management and their response was anything but sympathetic.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - you'll regret it as I did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We would like to apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced at our property. We have shared your comments with our hotel team to ensure that we have made corrections moving forward. We do hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Just in town for the one night, to attend an event near this hotel. First, this is a big hotel, we were given a room in the second tower, which is an older hotel, but the rooms have just been refurbished, (still had the new carpet scent). we were pleased with the room, very nice furnishings, large TV, great shower. Bedding was also very good. It was a Chiefs game weekend, lots of Steelers fans in the hotel, but was very quiet, throughout the night, glad for that. Would recommend the valet parking, and the bar in the main lobby was nice place to hang out.

Room Tip: the second tower, across the street with park view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Kansas City you will give us the pleasure of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

My husband an I attended 10/13/17 to see QOTSA and Royal Blood, this was our frist time visiting the beautiful and vibrant city. We were able to walk easily when needed. If youd like to bike the have bike rentals on Downtown Crossroads. The locals were very friendly. The city was clean and welcoming. We plan on visiting again! I recommend earing at the YardHouse!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and the Kansas City local attractions. There are so many fun things to do and we are happy to hear that you had a great time. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Stayed at the Marriott downtown for three nights on business. Great location with walking distance to many restaurants, convention center and sprint center. The staff were wonderful, always pleasant and ready to help. The club lounge is large with a very well organized breakfast and afternoon service. The food was good too. The on site restaurant was solid with enough variety on menu.
The reason for 4 instead of 5 stars are the rooms. Outdated overall: not bad, just outdated.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hasmar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a great experience at our property. We have started our guest room renovation and we have a few floors that have been completed. The new rooms look amazing. I am glad that you enjoyed the food in the Concierge Lounge and the Metropolitan KC Restaurant. We do hope that you will choose our hotel again if your travels bring you back to Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here during a recent conference and it was a nice stay. The staff was very accommodating and our room was nice with good view. It was a classic Marriott with excellent service. The location was convenient and we would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our property. I am pleased that our staff assisted you with anything you may have needed during your stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 110 in Kansas City
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 110 in Kansas City
2,262 reviews
6.8 km away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
6.8 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 110 in Kansas City
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 12,115 - ₹ 21,494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests staying at our hotel in Kansas City, Missouri are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. Our premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing