We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 22 April 2016

If you have something going on at the Convention Center this is the place to stay. They are used to handling big crowds. Lots of staff available to answer questions. Typical Marriott quality although we felt our gall was a bit "dingy". Best asset is the automated elevators that direct you to one of five elevators after you press your floor in the lobby. This eliminates button pushing inside the elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that your found the Convention Center very convenient to access from our hotel. We just recently upgraded our elevators to a new system and I am glad that you found them to be a great asset to our hotel. They are quicker and more efficient for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 310 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2016

While in KC for a biannual meeting I decided to try a restaurant in a different hotel from the one I was staying at.which restaurant left something to be desired. Service was speedy and non intrusive. Longest delay was in paying the check, I started off with the soup of the day which was a chicken tortilla which was very flavorful just a little spicy for my taste. Should the staff have warned this dish was spicy? Maybe I should has known it was spicy. I then ordered the KC strip which I ordered with a strip of pink. The waiter said medium well. What I got had no pink but I didn't say anything about it. It came with 2 sides which I picked the loaded bake potato along with the American Royal winner. Best of all they have 18 different wines from Rose to Cabs sorted from light to full bodied. Very reasonable prices for a downtown hotel

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Metropolitan KC Restaurant. I am sharing your comments and suggestions to the appropriate hotel teams to ensure we make corrections with our product and with our service. I am pleased that you liked the many different varieties of wine that we have to offer. We do hope that you will come visit again when your meetings bring you back to the Kansas City area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Here for a volleyball tournament. It doesn't seem like the hotel is equipped to handle this many people. A long wait at check in, can't access the elevators because of the long check in line. The rooms are not family friendly. No refrigerators, no hair dryers, $16 for breakfast is a bit steep if you ask me. They charge $18 PER DAY to park on the property, it is not included in your room rate. I hope the stay gets better because right now it is definitely not worth the price I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for main building, not the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LJ20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. Our goal is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and it seems we have failed you on that. I will be sharing all of your comments with our management team and we will ensure we are properly staffed to assist our guests. In our upcoming guest room renovation we will be adding refrigerators to all of our guest rooms. We do have hair dryers in our guest rooms and at this time they are located in the closet. Thank you again and we do hope that you will choose our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

y previous excellent visit was certainly not a fluke. Another 4 day stay, not one complaint. First class from the valet, to the front desk, to the concierge,housekeeping, bartenders, waitresses, etc., etc.

Room Tip: The Junior suite is very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit. We are delighted that you had another wonderful experience at our property. I am pleased that all of our staff are Brilliant hosts to you and assist you with anything you need. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

When we arrived we were in the wrong hotel the Marriott has 2 hotels but it's the same 1 hotel they are connected but a walk way on the 3rd or 4 th story.
When I got to my room there was no refrigerator or microwave. We were there 3 nights 4 days. The closest was missing a door. The bathroom was pretty tiny also.
Our view was less than satisfying. It was a dingy roof top that had something shady going on near it.

No free meals there breakfast you paid 15.00 for was a simple continental breakfast set up nice. Don't waste your time. Go across the street to the silver spoon. Little dinner foods not to bad and cheap!! Best food is the Cosentino's it's not to bad of a walk and it really amazing breakfast, lunch, dinner prices arent bad either.

Parking was pretty expensive but it is underground and right across the street from the hotel or you can use the elevator to go down to the parking level.

There is a very cool part to this hotel but you do t have to stay here to go see it. In the mulenbusch section of the hotel there is a stair well that goes to a lower section which is the old hotel entry/ front desk.
I got some good pics of my son next to the beautiful old stairwell and elevators.

recap- not worth the price I paid per night for not refrigerator, microwave , broken closet door and No free breakfast. But go to visit the old front desk section!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank disney30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback. The Muehlebach original Front Desk/Lobby is historic and we receive many compliments from our guests who see it. I am glad you were able to take great pictures in it with your family. We do operator our hotel with two towers with a Skywalk in between. In our upcoming guest room renovation we will be adding refrigerators to all our guest rooms. At this time we will not be adding microwaves, but we do have them available for our guests use in the Sundry Shops in both Lobby areas. We have food options at our hotel as well as surrounding areas near our hotel. I will alert our Engineering and Housekeeping staff of the room concerns so we can make corrections moving forward. We do hope that you will choose our hotel again if your travels bring you back to Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 110 in Kansas City
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 110 in Kansas City
2,262 reviews
6.8 km away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1.7 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 12,082 - ₹ 21,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests staying at our hotel in Kansas City, Missouri are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. Our premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing