We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend at the Muehlebach Hotel -Marriott Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We checked in Thursday early afternoon. It was a bit hectic as there was a convention at Bartle Hall (Kansas City Convention Center). Everyone was very helpful and even the management was working the front desk! We were checking in at the Marriott which was originally built as the Vista International Hotel in 1985, when we were told that we would actually be staying at the Muehlebach Annex. Hmmm... The Muehlebach Annex is a building which was restored in 1998 at the SE corner of 12th and Baltimore. It is located diagonally across from the Marriott and can be accessed at street level, or from a covered walkway on the 2nd floor of the Marriott. The rooms were clean and housekeeping did an excellent job. Both the Marriott and the Muehlbach are located are conveniently located about 1 or 2 blocks from the Convention Center. Our room was quiet, on the west side (front) of the building. One could see the front of the Marriott, Bartle Hall, the Music Hall, and a couple of churches, one of which had a guilded dome. Several restaurants are located within walking distance, too. We took advantage of the valet parking. The service was excellent! The only downside we found was there were almost no vending machines.

Room Tip: The Muehlebach is one of three "wings" of the Marriott-Downtown. When you check in, if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank renown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,062 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

I bought a bottle of wine with a nice card for a client of mine that was in town and staying at this hotel. I dropped both off with the front desk girl that assured me that they would put both items in my client's room. Well, needless to say they did not. They lost both items and only managed to find the bottle of wine a day later after I had to repeatedly called them. Very annoying and they completely ruined the surpirse gift.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank JReifeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great location in Downtown KC. Easy self park underneath the hotel, check-in was a breeze, room was good size with nice King Bed. Except for a bit of street noise, would have rated this a 5. Overall was a solid choice for a Sprint Center event downtown.

Room Tip: Maybe the west facing rooms are quieter, wasn't a huge issue but 12th street and facing Municipa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was a business trip. Hotel was very nice, rooms spacious, bed very comfortable. Coffee bar in the lobby and a full service restaurant. I ordered room service which was very prompt - food quality excellent. Located near bus lines and about 30 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjk0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights while attending a business event. Valet, bell, housekeeping, and front desk staff were exceptional. All needs were met with a smile and genuine concern for doing it right. The room was well appointed and everything worked perfectly. It was interesting that there is no lobby area with seating. They may be renovating.

One area for improvement is the $7.50 charge for using the computer in the business center. One computer didn't work and the color copier was inoperative also. Having to swipe a credit card to use a computer is a throwback of at least 10 years. Printing a boarding pass or another simple document should be free.

The restaurant was good but not great. Food was good and the service mostly very good. Shannon was exceptional.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of anywhere downtown.

While in town, don't miss the 18th & Vine jazz district and especially the Negro Leagues Museum there. A real journey of history and heart.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main tower are more convenient to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.3 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 111 in Kansas City
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
6.8 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,200 reviews
1.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 111 in Kansas City
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 12,147 - ₹ 21,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests staying at our hotel in Kansas City, Missouri are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. Our premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing