We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed two nights while attending a conference. Our room was in the old Muehlebach tower. This part of the hotel is showing it's age. Some may find it to be a charming historical experience, I would have preferred more modern accomodations. Except for the heavy, hard-slamming doors, our floor would have been quiet. The bathroom was another thing. If the light was on, so was the vent fan. And, it was NOISY. It was enough to make you want to brush your teeth in the dark. Our commode sounded like an airplane's commode on steroids. It had tremendous suction and did the job in spades, but it left no one sleeping nearby.
The bedding was very comfortable, although I would have preferred a lighter blanket since the AC was struggling to cool the room. The TV was a fairly new flat screen and worked fine. No problems finding an open outlet for charging phones. I'm still unclear as to whether the wireless internet was free or not. Normally, if it is included with the room, I will use it. If the hotel charges for it, just forget it. Everyone on staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Their people are their best asset.
The meeting rooms were kept very cool, as usual. I've learned to dress for it, but I heard several saying that they were uncomfortably cold. The food provided during our meetings was excellent. I didn't visit the restaurant or pool, so I can't comment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chef31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,114 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

The rooms are large with a sofa, chair, working desk with a chair. The room was quiet and very clean. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were cleaned every day with a turn down service at night.

The only two issues were:
1. The air conditioning did work to a degree. However it could have been a lot cooler in the room. That being said it is a personal thing and it would be fine for someone else.

2. Our shower had hot water but it only dribbled out of the shower head. No water pressure at all. Our daughter stayed in another room and they had water pressure but no hot water.

TIP - We did not eat at the in house restaurant because it was priced way to high for us. There is a upscale grocery store within easy walking distance (4 blocks) that has a breakfast buffet, coffee station, and a bakery with pasteries. It has a very nice large eat in area after you purchase the food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socntytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Had to travel to Kansas City, MO for SkillsUSA contest. The hotel was perfectly situated, just catty-corner to the event location. The front desk was courteous and quick to respond to my request to change my room over to feather-free and threw in some bottles of water at no charge. The gym was good, never too crowded to find a treadmill, and the pool looked like a nice rectangle for doing laps but, admittedly, I never had a chance to use it. The health club area was also constantly manned with a staff member. Room service was friendly and the food was good- also not a tremendous price difference from eating downstairs to eating in the room and the staff was quick to tell me that the tip was already included in the bill (with a smile no less)!! Also, security personnel were clearly present and seemed to do a good job of keeping the hotel fairly well devoid of trespassers. Criticism: internet service cost $10/day and, even though I don't usually eat candy, I really wanted a bit of after-dinner chocolate on one of the nights during my visit and there was none to be had in the entire hotel. No vending machines and no snacks for sale in the lobby either, i.e. no "market." However, there is a very upscale market store a few blocks away with deli food and baked goods, candy, groceries, etc. so plan ahead and get what you might need during the daylight hours. Overall, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business and find it very average in every way. I usually find Marriotts nice and although this facility is not one of their best, it generally mets my needs.

Muhlebach Tower:
The place is very large and includes a large older portion (The Muhlenbach) that is attached to the main building by second floor covered skyway. If you are placed in the Muhlenbach tower you will find less to like. The bed and room appointments are nice, but the window in the room is small. The USA Today has never been delivered to my room in the Muhlenbach. There are very seldom copies in the Muhlenbach lobby (they are plentiful in the main hotel lobby). There is only occasionally a person at the Muhlenbach tower front desk. If you wish to speak to a live person you will have to trek over to the main hotel. If you park underground in the Marriott lot, you have a serpentine underground walk to the Muhlenbach.

Odds & Ends:
Parking is $13/day in the hotel lot. Not surprizing for a "downtown" or "convention" hotel
Internet is NOT free. It will set you back $10/day.
The exercise facility is good, but is often too crowded to use at convenient times
On the plus side the staff was nice and I am often able to check into my room well on the early side. I find the bed comfortable and the hotel is nicely near the Power & Light restaurant/entertainment area (I like the Ragland Road Irish Pub best).

Overall safe, clean, and average. But sometimes average is just fine. I think that is the case with the KC Marriott Downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the Main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnysaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I have stayed here for a week recently on business and overall it is OK although not one of the better Marriotts. The rooms are a bit dated and need to be redone, at least in the old, historic tower. The doors to the rooms are heavy and impossible to close quietly so every time someone comes in or leaves the noise is incredibly high. Not a relaxing hotel to sleep in due to the doors. Staff is very nice and helpful but does not make up for the interrupted sleep. Hilton a couple of blocks away will be my next stop when I come back for business.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelNowSwUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.3 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 111 in Kansas City
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
6.8 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,204 reviews
6.8 km away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 12,249 - ₹ 22,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests staying at our hotel in Kansas City, Missouri are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. Our premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing