We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George A. Spiva Center for the Arts
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting

Local art center. Varied mediums on display. Art classes also available for those interested... read more

Reviewed 30 January 2018
Dan L
,
Joplin, Missouri, United States
A lot of art in a small space.

The exhibits at Spiva have been amazing. They display a wide variety of art mediums, so it's a real... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2017
starrynight22017
,
Joplin, Missouri
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
25
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
5
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This place is great! It is so nice to see culture & Art in our own little downtown! Absolutely worth visiting... I have enjoyed every single trip I've made & all the different exhibits I've got to see.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank skeeter716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This art center is an incredible place for the whole family. There are always new and interesting exhibits (3 galleries!), tons of classes for kids and adults, and always fun programs to attend. Members get awesome perks, and membership is really cheap. My favorite perks are the membership shows to display my art, and the opening receptions. You're missing out if you haven't gone to check this place out!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Great local spot to see local art and artists. Set aside a few hours to see everything. Great little gem in the 4 state area.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Travis J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I am friends with a family that has moved to Joplin and have taken the boys on a couple of outings around town to pick up literature for the family and show the boys some of the things they might not easily discover. The gentleman who arranges for the exhibits gave us a "teaser" for the upcoming exhibit. An artist using different colored cardboards (as in boxes) to create his unique art. The boys were interested in the cardboard art and the man explained the fact that the designs were created using different colored cardboard. We also looked at some of the tornado victims in the art in the lobby. Hopefully I have helped further interest in art in a couple of brothers.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank happytraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

With ever-changing exhibits, the Spiva selects from only the best and most thoughtful of local and regional artists. Within the confines of this downtown facility are four primary exhibit rooms with each exhibit attractively displayed and accompanied by helpful and informative descriptions of each piece of art. It is a FREE museum, surprisingly, and well worth taking 30 minutes out of your day to explore.

I have included some pictures from my last two visits (I drive 70 miles each way to visit the museum) . . . one in June of 2015 and the other in July of 2016. One are the amazing sculptural works by Dustin Poche (small human figures), farm-related constructs by another artist and, finally, reflecting the lasting impact of the tornado that descimated Joplin, MO, in 2011, works by Brody and Bradley German.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank RebecaEleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews